Isn't it rude to offer a draw when you are losing?

Sort:
etc2000chess
chesspro73 wrote:

It's more funny, then rude...

Spelling "than" wrong is more rude, than funny.( Unless you're saying it's funny at first, then rude. lol, please clarify.)

Obscurist
newengland7 wrote:

I had the white pieces.

 

As to NM Reb's question--there seems to be only the one draw button on chess.com and this was my first game on chess.com that resulted in repeat positions. Normally, if I am going to make a repeat position or I know that there are repeat positions that are going to happen or one side is going to lose, I offer a draw to my opponent because I really don't like playing out the repetitions. It seems rather nonsensical to do so. I once had a game on here in which I offered a draw seeing that I had intention to carry out repeated positions or my opponent would beat me, he declined, I played out the repeat positions, and then enforced the draw. He called me a coward and so I have him in my blocked users list now as a result.

Did you press the button at any time after 44..Qd7 and before 47..Kd6? The claim must be made when the position is on the board (OTB when it's on the board or about to appear on the board and it's your move). After 47..Kd6 the position on the board is no longer one that's appeared three times or more and so a draw cannot be claimed.

Obscurist
chesspro73 wrote:

It's more funny, then rude...

Is it rude to laugh at your opponent's draw offer?

DrSpudnik
Esha_Nandhini wrote:

What will happen when i quit a group while playing a team match in it?

Nothing.

D-mate19
It generally depends on the play, if they have a higher rating and are halfway through the endgame, then it isn't rude. Having a lower rating and checkmate in 5? That's rude
krm27

I've done it once on this site, as a joke when my position was totally and clearly hopeless.  Kind of an absurdist gesture.  If you are clearly winning, I'd assume the offer was meant as a joke.

johnnykontant
I never offer a draw when i have the worse position. I feel that is up to the player with the stronger position. But i am rarely annoyed when someone does that to me. Only when they keep offering draw many times when they are lost. That is just stupid.
petrikeckman

For me it was just offered a draw. In a second move I lost my Queen and offered a draw. He didn't accept Smile I lost my consentartion in draw offer.

bobbyDK

I don't think it is rude I think it is a bit optimistic though.

if you are winning you can just make a move and don't think about it.

OTB I offered draw in a equal position my opponent refused and made a terrible blunder two moves later and said now I take the draw...(of course I refused). He thought subcontiously he could cash in the draw at any pont. - he was that optimistic. my first draw made him play careless.-I guess

AutisticCath

micberu,

OTB, you can claim a draw if there is third position repetition and it doesn't have to be immediately afterward. I clicked the draw button prior the third repetition as I already knew I was going to make the repetition. As I was unfamiliar with chess.com's system at the time, I automatically assumed that it was like every single other engine which would automatically enforce the draw. Surprised it didn't I hit the draw button and started repeatedly clicking on it I think post-move 47.

FIDE rules on claiming a draw:

The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by sequential repetition of moves)
a. is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
b. has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
Considering that I clicked the draw button just prior to making the threefold repetition, the message, "newengland7 has offered a draw" should not have appeared but rather a draw should have been enforced IFF chess.com's draw feature is following OTB rules. Again, I've already spoken to staff about this and they agree that a draw should have been enforced and that it should NOT have said that I was only offering a draw.
AutisticCath

Also, read the annotations in that game I posted as it clearly indicates when I clicked the draw button.

AutisticCath

bobbyDK,

I think when offering a draw to your opponent, your opponent only can choose to accept or reject it once until you offer one again.

Obscurist
newengland7 wrote:

micberu,

OTB, you can claim a draw if there is third position repetition and it doesn't have to be immediately afterward. I clicked the draw button prior the third repetition as I already knew I was going to make the repetition. As I was unfamiliar with chess.com's system at the time, I automatically assumed that it was like every single other engine which would automatically enforce the draw. Surprised it didn't I hit the draw button and started repeatedly clicking on it I think post-move 47.

FIDE rules on claiming a draw:

The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by sequential repetition of moves)a. is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, orb. has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
 
Considering that I clicked the draw button just prior to making the threefold repetition, the message, "newengland7 has offered a draw" should not have appeared but rather a draw should have been enforced IFF chess.com's draw feature is following OTB rules. Again, I've already spoken to staff about this and they agree that a draw should have been enforced and that it should NOT have said that I was only offering a draw.

You have to make the claim when the position has just appeared or is about to appear on the board. You cannot play on and then claim the draw later (unless the position reappears).

You said you clicked the button prior to the third appearance of the position and again after move 47. Prior to the third appearance of the position you cannot claim a draw. After 47..Kd6 the position on the board is not one that's appeared three times.

I have read your annotations. You said you think you first offered a draw after 45..Qb7. If that's the case then the game should have ended as that was the third appearance of that position (after moves 41, 43, 45). It may be that you first offered the draw after 43..Qb7 and not after 45..Qb7, which is why I asked the question.

xman720

I had no idea that three move repetition and 50 move rule were one time occurences like en passant. Thanks for correcting me. I always thought that once the same position appeared three times, either player could claim a draw at any time.

SmyslovFan

Yeah. I once repeated a position for a third time relatively early in a USCF game, betting that my opponent wouldn't claim the draw. The draw wouldn't have hurt either of us in the standings, but neither of us really wanted the draw. I did it because I was lower on time than my opponent. I ended up winning the game in part because I had just enough time to reach move 40.

After the game, my opponent asked me if there had been a three-fold repetition. He agreed that he didn't want the draw at that time, but he wasn't sure if it really happened. He is now a Life Master in the USCF.

AutisticCath

FIDE on left, USCF on right:

2. If claiming a draw by triple occurrence of position or the 50 move rule, you must write your move on the score sheet withoutmaking the move on the board. If you make the move on the board, you are no longer considered to be "on the move" (even if your clock is still running), and a draw claim will be rejected.

If claiming a draw by triple occurrence of position and the player's next move would cause the third occurrence, the correct procedure is to write the move on the scoresheet but not to execute the move on the board. However, under USCF rules, a player is considered to be "on the move" until the player presses the clock. So, if the player (incorrectly) makes the move on the board but does not press the clock, the player does not lose the right to claim the draw. Also, to claim a draw by the 50 move rule, the player should make the move on the board (if needed to reach the count of 50 moves by both sides) and must claim the draw before pressing the clock.

 

In my game, I clicked the draw button after my opponent finished his move knowing I was going to make three-fold repetition. As I CANNOT write my move down before it is recorded in PGN, it would only offer my opponent a draw. Therefore, a draw claim should have been made in accordance with both FIDE and USCF. I remember that part of my clicking the draw button quite clearly and I have that in the annotations. It was NOT move 43. It was directly after my opponent made his move, I had the intention of making third position repetition, and clicked the draw button. Therefore, I should not have lost my right to claim a draw even IF long after the three-fold repetition. If you want to say that I was the one who made a mistake in clicking the draw button, that is fine but that is NOT what happened!

AutisticCath

micberu,

"I have read your annotations. You said you think you first offered a draw after 45..Qb7. If that's the case then the game should have ended as that was the third appearance of that position (after moves 41, 43, 45). It may be that you first offered the draw after 43..Qb7 and not after 45..Qb7, which is why I asked the question."

I did not say "I think I first offered my opponent a draw at move 45" I said I KNOW and REMEMBER correctly that I first offered my opponent a draw PRIOR to making my own move which resulted in three-fold occurence. According to FIDE and USCF rules of chess, this would be equivalent to a draw claim if I had written my move down. As the computer writes the move down for you, claiming a draw in accordance with FIDE and USCF rules is impossible so losing the right to claim a draw on a chess website is utterly rubbish. DO NOT say that I was mistaken about this. I clicked the draw button at the time when I knew it would in fact end up as a draw. Like I said, support staff agrees with me on this issue, not you. You can take your complaints to them about this if you think I was mistaken about this. As this was my first time on chess.com in which this has happened and all other sites have software which automatically enforces the draw when this happens, I was in utter shock when the game continued after the three-fold repetition which is why I started pressing the button again. As it turns out, if the draw feature here was actually following the FIDE and USCF rules of chess, a draw would have been claimed when I first offered it which was immediately prior to the three-fold repetition. As I clicked the draw button first in accordance with the rules of chess (it's really more of a habit for me to click the draw button prior to my making the move that results in three-fold repetition any way as I do not like playing repeat positions), I should NOT have lost my right to claim a draw even though it was long since that move that I started pressing it like crazy. Do not accuse me of not remembering the events correctly. Do not accuse me of only "thinking" that was when I first clicked the draw button. I know when I clicked the draw button. DO NOT defend the draw feature on this site!!! PETITION TO CHANGE IT!!!

SmyslovFan

The rule regarding writing down the move is obviated in online chess. Simply pushing the "draw" button is sufficient. There's no need to record the move in online chess since the site automatically records the correct move for us.

AutisticCath

Well for some reason it did not do that. DO NOT DEFEND the draw policy on this site. PETITION TO HAVE IT CHANGED!!!

Obscurist

Sorry, after 45..Qb7 you said "I believe I first offered my opponent a draw here prior to the third repetition."

The position on the board at that time had actually appeared three times. That contradiction was what led me to ask if you had made the offer at that time.

Now that you've made it clear your annotation is correct I agree there is a problem with the draw feature. If you pressed the draw button at any time after 44..Qd7 and before 47..Kd6 the game should have ended immediately with a draw as the result.

OTB you need to make the claim during your own turn which is why the procedure is not to make the move on the board but to write it down. On chess.com the software does not know what move you intend to make and so you need to make the move on the board and press the draw button during your opponent's turn. The problem with that is your opponent could make a move before you press the button to claim the draw.