legal move?

Sort:
Avatar of slowhare
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Tyzer

Ohgod it's this thing again. I hope this time it's a genuine question and not a troll. Anyway, to answer the OP...informally speaking you can think of it as the idea that "the player whose king gets captured first loses". So in this case, if the king took the bishop, Black would "capture" White's king one move before White can "capture" his, so White can't capture the bishop.

Avatar of Dragec
slowhare wrote:

Kxh6 is not allowed, why can't King capture Bishop? Kxh6

g7xh6 would expose Blacks king to check by Rook@g4 and not be allowed, therefor eliminating capture of White King which should leave Black Bishop unprotected from attack from any piece including King.


Because of the FIDE laws of chess,Articles 1.2. , 3.1 , 3.9

http://www.fide.com/component/handbook/?id=124&view=article

Avatar of slowhare

understand the rule, just another who disagrees with it