Forums

New to chess. Need some advice.

Sort:
KennyEe

Hi guys, I am new to chess and started learning 1 month ago. I have suscribed to the premium membership as it has helped me to improve my overall gameplay. I was wondering as to what is the best way or fastest way to improve as a player at my level.(Below 1000) Do i focus on the tactics trainer or reading more books about the opening/midgame/endgame? I have basic knowledge of the game already like the opening principles and done quite a number of tactics trainer. So I am open to suggestions cause I would like to become an average player or maybe even better in the future if I have the time to invest into the game. 

kiwi-inactive

Many titled players on live chess have told me starting to learn the end game first is a good place to begin your journey. So understanding what kind of situations can typically arise in end games. When is your bishop or knight valuable, where to position your King, how to use and protect your pawns in the end game.

Once you get the gist of it, you can move onto learning one opening for white. So probably about the first 10 moves of the main line of your choice.

Then whilst playing it to yourself, analyse why this opening has this sequence, what is the opening trying to achieve, which pieces is it developing first. Once you grasp the basics of your opening sequence, you can now look at common responses to your opening. Learn how it might be countered or played against. This will build up your knowledge for your opening. Once you feel confident on playing this opening to a few common responses. You should switch over to solving puzzles, this will help you improve tactics slowly. The more you do with analysis the better you will become.