OTB Opponent Forgot to Hit Clock, and I Moved

Sort:
marklamountain

I played an OTB tournament a couple weeks ago, and twice when I made my move and went to hit the clock I realized my opponent hadn't hit their clock. Technically then, I was moving on their turn even though they had already completed their move. What's the correct way to handle that situation? In both instances I replaced the pieces to where they were before I moved and pointed out they forgot to hit their clock. Should I just have acted as though I had hit it and moved on? Could I have been penalized for moving the pieces while it was still their turn? Thank you.

Ghost_Horse0
marklamountain wrote:

I played an OTB tournament a couple weeks ago, and twice when I made my move and went to hit the clock I realized my opponent hadn't hit their clock. Technically then, I was moving on their turn even though they had already completed their move. What's the correct way to handle that situation?

Just ignore it.

mgx9600

I don't know the rules, but I can tell you that It'll only happen for a few games in the beginning, then you'll notice it immediately.

 

ESP-918

I would just wait till his time runs out and then tell him : oh you forgot to hit your clock

AussieMatey

You should sit there, try and find the best move you can, without ever playing it, until your opponent presses their clock. But try not to give attention to the fact that you're just letting their clock run down. That's not cheating or bad sportsmanship or anything - if your opponent doesn't press their clock, that's their fault - they should know the rules.

BL4D3RUNN3R

The official FIDE rules: 

If your opponent moved you have the move. But he is allowed to complete his move by pressing the clock.

Technically speaking it is legal:

A moves a

B moves b

A completes a

B completes b

Ghost_Horse0
AussieRookie wrote:

You should sit there, try and find the best move you can, without ever playing it, until your opponent presses their clock. But try not to give attention to the fact that you're just letting their clock run down. That's not cheating or bad sportsmanship or anything - if your opponent doesn't press their clock, that's their fault - they should know the rules.

If it's early in the game I'll take as much time as I normally would, and then move.

But yeah, if it's later in the game I'll just sit there... and I'd expect my opponent to do the same to me. No hard feelings.

marklamountain

I think you all have missed what I am saying. If I notice my opponent hasn't hit his clock, I will not move...that is a different scenario than what my question is about. In my question, I did not notice that my opponent didn't hit their clock, and so I moved my pieces. When I went to hit the clock, I could not, since it was still on my opponent.

BL4D3RUNN3R

Yes you can. You have the move. Make your move and hit the clock (or not). But your opponent has still the right to complete his move after all by pressing the clock afterwards. Even after your move!

Markle

I have played OTB chess for about 40 years now and if you forget to hit your clock I will just wait to see if you notice and spend my time studying the board, it is not my place to keep an eye on the clock that is your responsibility after all the clock is part of the game .Most of the time they will figure it out in a couple of minutes.

blueemu

That's not a problem.

The opponent is not REQUIRED to press the clock... although he can lose on time if he fails to press it and you just sit there allowing his time to run down. After you've made your move (on his time), he is even allowed to belatedly press the clock; in which case you would immediately press it right back (since you've already made your next move).

Ghost_Horse0
BL4D3RUNN3R wrote:

Yes you can. You have the move. Make your move and hit the clock (or not). But your opponent has still the right to complete his move after all by pressing the clock afterwards. Even after your move!

That's a little crazy, but probably not wrong.

So it would be like move, move, followed by clock-press clock-press.

But anyway, yeah OP, you can move without getting in trouble.

BL4D3RUNN3R
 
Yeah, see #7.
Ghost_Horse0 hat geschrieben:
BL4D3RUNN3R wrote:

Yes you can. You have the move. Make your move and hit the clock (or not). But your opponent has still the right to complete his move after all by pressing the clock afterwards. Even after your move!

That's a little crazy, but probably not wrong.

So it would be like move, move, followed by clock-press clock-press.

But anyway, yeah OP, you can move without getting in trouble.

 

MF972
AussieMatey wrote:

You should sit there, try and find the best move you can, without ever playing it, until your opponent presses their clock. But try not to give attention to the fact that you're just letting their clock run down. That's not cheating or bad sportsmanship or anything - if your opponent doesn't press their clock, that's their fault - they should know the rules.

Bro, read the post, the situation to handle is when he already did make the move.

MF972
Ghost_Horse0 wrote:
marklamountain wrote:

I played an OTB tournament a couple weeks ago, and twice when I made my move and went to hit the clock I realized my opponent hadn't hit their clock. Technically then, I was moving on their turn even though they had already completed their move. What's the correct way to handle that situation?

Just ignore it.

I was in a tournament yesterday, where one of the players (maybe purposely) didn't hit his clock in a queen vs rook endgame, and when his opponent moved and forked K & R, he stopped the clock and called the arbiter and wanted to claim "illegal move" because his opponent had moved before he had hit his clock.

blueemu
MF972 wrote:
Ghost_Horse0 wrote:
marklamountain wrote:

I played an OTB tournament a couple weeks ago, and twice when I made my move and went to hit the clock I realized my opponent hadn't hit their clock. Technically then, I was moving on their turn even though they had already completed their move. What's the correct way to handle that situation?

Just ignore it.

I was in a tournament yesterday, where one of the players (maybe purposely) didn't hit his clock in a queen vs rook endgame, and when his opponent moved and forked K & R, he stopped the clock and called the arbiter and wanted to claim "illegal move" because his opponent had moved before he had hit his clock.

He was wrong.

The sequence goes:

  1. Player A moves but does not press the clock. His clock continues to run.
  2. Player B can now either sit there until his opponent loses on time, or else he can make his own move, regardless of the un-pressed clock.
  3. Player A is now allowed (but not required) to press the clock for his PREVIOUS move, in which case Player B can just press the clock right back, because he has already made his reply move.