Plycounter 2 - yuck

dcb1970

We got our young son the Plycounter 2. He was excited when it arrived. I wanted to share my reaction and see if anyone else has similar (or different) thoughts. Basically, it is pretty awful. Wrote customer service with no response.

1. You now need to drag your piece from one square to another.  You cannot tap both squares and hit a Submit button. This is beyond stupid given the thickness of kids' fingers and / or stylus being used. It is very hard to be fast and accurate.

2. Software has literally no functionality

3. Screen border is too crowded, cannot easily tap the back arrows to undo an entry error

4. No custom case.  They sent a case for $15 that is a generic camera case! 

Basically, there has got to be some sort of scam going on.  Any smartphone costing $75 could be stripped down and certified by the USCF as "limited in scope and safe for use" and have 100x better ergonomics and component hardware.  Why not just JV with Samsung et al to produce a redacted version for chess tourney use.  

 

Curious if I am alone in my disappointment.

 

Diakonia

I have the first plycounter, and had no issues with it.  Sorry to hear this one isnt working for you.  

dcb1970

We tried someone else's Ply 1 and liked it. They made the Ply 2 worse. the drag feature is truly terrible.  

Diakonia
dcb1970 wrote:

We tried someone else's Ply 1 and liked it. They made the Ply 2 worse. the drag feature is truly terrible.  

I cant imagine how or whya they would think a touch screen would work on sonething that small?

dcb1970

Diakonia -  agree. My kid just wants to touch a piece, a target square, and hit submit. On Ply 2 you have to drag the piece across the screen. But it is so small it is hard, esp when the board is crowded, or the distance to drag is far. Likely no UAT before launch.

 

Diakonia
dcb1970 wrote:

Diakonia -  agree. My kid just wants to touch a piece, a target square, and hit submit. On Ply 2 you have to drag the piece across the screen. But it is so small it is hard, esp when the board is crowded, or the distance to drag is far. Likely no UAT before launch.

 

IM sure they still sell the original.  I would get that one, and retuen this one.

cghori

When was the Ply 2 introduced?

dcb1970

Last few months, Support does not exist - they never write back. Someone should start a competitor.

MKaprielian

My PlyCounter died while I was updating the PC app.  All I get now is a white screen.  Been trying to get in touch via email, Facebook and Twitter but no response.   My one year warranty runs out in April but can't return it without an RMA from them.

dcb1970

Same experience. No response still through any means. Really unprofessional. Sadly, the product itself is a stripped down, much simpler, overpriced handheld. Why the USCF doesn't contract with a real firm to solve this problem for chess puzzles me.

EscherehcsE

It looks like my decision to stick with my No. 2 pencil was a good one. Smile

Diakonia

If all of this is true, its a shame.  I bought the original plycounter a few years ago.  Received it, and it froze up.  I emailed them, received a rma to return the defective unit.  I received an apology, and new unit within days.  

ciscodad

I use good old fashioned paper and pencil. Also, I got my 8 year old kids notate and they do so at tournaments. I just don't see the need to use electronics.

 

By the way, can you use plycounter and the like at FIDE rated tournaments?

Diakonia
ciscodad wrote:

I use good old fashioned paper and pencil. Also, I got my 8 year old kids notate and they do so at tournaments. I just don't see the need to use electronics.

 

By the way, can you use plycounter and the like at FIDE rated tournaments?

I used it for awhile, and eventually went back to pen and paper.  Like most things electronic, its makes things "easier"  But i dont think "easier" is always the answer.  

rubmypawn

The ply count 2 is total junk.I Have no idea what they were thinking. The first model  works fine. The ply counter 2 is worthless. A drag and drop on a two inch screen good one. The stylus. It was sent with, the tip is bigger than the square. Finger doesn't fit in the Square so you're always moving the wrong piece to the wrong place Total terrible design. Like everyone else on here they have no phone number listed. I did find out the number from an LLC listing however. This is a total mom-and-pop operation  working out of their house with what is reported to be three employees only. So when you call you they get a woman that puts you  on hold and hangs up phone call or their answering machine. 468 766 2318.  Good luck my fellow victims

PlyCounter

The PlyCounter 2 has a new touch screen based on direct finger input. We have initially designed it to move the pieces using a drag-and-drop gesture. But based on feedback from customers, it seems like the traditional 'point-and-point' gesture is still the preferred method. We are going to provide a software update to include the 'point-and-point' method to move the pieces on the board.

We've been quite busy with the launch of version 2. We are doing our best to respond to customer's inquiries and apologize if it is taken more than expected.

 

Best regards,

  The PlyCount Team

GuardianOfTheKing

I don't even know what the ply counter is

MKaprielian

Hello PlyCounter Team

 

I"ve been trying to get in touch with you for over a month and have received no replys.  I need to get an RMA as my Plycounter stopped working within the one year warranty period at the time I first notified you.  You can see my earlier post in this thread.   

Please let me know how to communicate with you.   My unit stopped working when I upgraded the PC software.  All I get is a blank white screen now.

   Mark

empire32

Hello!

 

Do you have an estimated timeline of when the Plycounter will be available for sale again?

 

Thanks.

ChessSpawnVT

yNotate for android works quite well. However, Chandru, the developer, has not been able to get US Chess or FIDE to certify it for tournament use even though it has a tournament lock feature that permits only the use of the app. If you go out of the app for any reason the game is lost. Not good enough for the powers that be.  I have used it in tournaments when my opponent agrees which has never been aproblem. The only other option is a dgt board which I have and have used for tournment play. As for Monroi, it appears they are effectively ut of business.