Promoting to....A PAWN ? Can it Help ?

Sort:
WilliamShookspear
EndgameStudy wrote:

What if after A8=Q, Kxh3, then Qh8? Bishop can't mate.

a8=Q gxh3 and Qh8 can't help.

EndgameEnthusiast2357
[COMMENT DELETED]
The_Ghostess_Lola
NelsonMoore wrote:

beautifully contrived position. After making a8 a pawn, Kxh3 or gxh3 is stalemate. If you promoted to a piece, whether bxa8 or b8 you will lose. If bxa8=Q for example, gxh3 and unstoppable checkmate. If b8=Q Rxb8 and white can play Bxg2 but will soon lose.

After bxa8=P if black plays any move other than capturing the bishop then Bxg2 will give a simple opposite-coloured bishops drawn endgame.

 

I'm not sure if was contrived. Do u mean composed or "arrived" ?

If it was composed ?....then what is the reason for the pawn @g6 ?

The_Ghostess_Lola

 Here (Reshko vs Kaminski Leningrad Championship 1972), in playing 1. a8=pawn !!, I believe white wins. !. a8=Q or R, and black goes 1...Qf7+ & gets a stalemate.

IDK wut happens about getting a B or a Kn. I do know that white is almost in ZZ 'cuza 1. g5 Qf3#.

IDK.....wildly complicated stuff....yay !!

 

The_Ghostess_Lola

The question is, after 1. a8=pawn !!

Now, wut does black play to hold a draw ?

1....Qf3 seems right to me, but IDK. Only 'cuz 1....g6 loses outright. And no other pieces can move.

Rocky64
The_Ghostess_Lola wrote:
NelsonMoore wrote:

beautifully contrived position. After making a8 a pawn, Kxh3 or gxh3 is stalemate. If you promoted to a piece, whether bxa8 or b8 you will lose. If bxa8=Q for example, gxh3 and unstoppable checkmate. If b8=Q Rxb8 and white can play Bxg2 but will soon lose.

After bxa8=P if black plays any move other than capturing the bishop then Bxg2 will give a simple opposite-coloured bishops drawn endgame.

 

I'm not sure if was contrived. Do u mean composed or "arrived" ?

If it was composed ?....then what is the reason for the pawn @g6 ?

The position was surely composed. The g6-P prevents 1.bxa8(Q) gxh3 2.Qg8+ winning.

Rocky64

Re the position from Reshko vs Kaminski Leningrad Championship 1972, if you click on the Engine Analysis button below the diagram, Stockfish tells you that 1.a8(B)! mates in 20. Googling the game, it seems that Reshko did play the bishop promotion, so it's a pretty cool instance of such a move in a real game.

 

As for creating a position in which only "promoting" to a pawn would win, it's conceivable but unlikely to be possible. You need a situation like in the Reshko vs Kaminski game where a normal promotion would allow Black to force a stalemate. However, promoting to a rook, bishop, or knight results in White controlling completely different squares, so in answer to each type of promotion, Black needs to set up a different type of stalemate position. That's why I'd say: not bloody likely!

pipxr

I just realized, if you don't promote your pawn, you cannot use it anymore as pawns can only move forward (at this point it is already at the top of opponents side) and can only eat diagonally (in which there is no more space for pieces to move above it) so it will just basically sit at the end for the rest of the game, which is useless.

The_Ghostess_Lola

Which is EXACTLY whatchu may need to get the point or salvage ahaffa point. 

gingerninja2003

promoting to a pawn can help but it's never best.

The_Ghostess_Lola
gingerninja2003 wrote:

promoting to a pawn can help but it's never best.

That's unproven.

EndgameEnthusiast2357

The question is though: Would u be able to change it into another piece later on, or is the decision final?

FBloggs

I cannot believe people continue to talk about promoting a pawn to a pawn.  Obviously that's not a promotion.  The rules require promotion.  Why bother discussing how non-promotion would affect certain endgame positions?  You may as well discuss how positions would be affected if one had the option of moving his queen as a knight.

The_Ghostess_Lola

....ur just another 1a the many who doesn't get it.

Reservoir-Cats

i think i will write a book "how to empty your mind of all cluless thoughts and think like a boss".

The_Ghostess_Lola

So. If u do not announce a certain piece for promotion, then it remains a lowly pawn....'cuz u skrooed up.

dannyhume
It could certainly be useful to promote to a pawn. Because then you can wait to promote again to a more helpful piece at a later better time. If you can’t re-promote after promoting to a pawn, then I don’t know.
The_Ghostess_Lola

No. Too far away from the intent. You promote (or not) coinciding w/ the move & it stays that way....just like it always was prior to 1863 (when someone went & arbitrarily changed the rules meh.png ).

Rocky64

A few days ago in post #199 I wrote that it's "not bloody likely" that it'd be possible to construct a position in which the only way to win is to "promote" to a P, if such a move were legal. (This is a much harder task than creating a position where a "non-promotion" move is the only way to salvage a draw, examples of which have already been shown in this thread.) However, I couldn't resist the challenge and now have actually composed such a position! 

 
The BQ threatens mates on a8 and f7, severely limiting White's options. 1.exf8(Q) or 1.exf8(R) pins the N and stalemates Black immediately. 1.exf8(B) guards g7 and allows Black to deflect the f5-N with 1...Ne7+ forcing 2.Nxe7 or Bxe7 stalemate. 1.exf8(N) guards h7 and means Black can remove the f6-N with 1...Nxf6+ forcing 2.gxf6 stalemate. If 1.e8(Q), Black still draws with 1...Qxf7+ 2.Qxf7 Ne7+ 3.Nxe7 stalemate. Stockfish confirms that other white moves like 1.Nxd6? actually loses.
 
Now if non-promoting were legal, then 1.exf8(P)!! wins because none of the stalemates would work. 1...Ne7+ 2.Nxe7 Kg7, or 1...Nxf6+ 2.gxf6 Kh7, or 1...Nh6 2.Nxh6 Kg7. Even after 1...Nxf6+ 2.gxf6, White is still a piece ahead and so wins the ending easily.
eric0022
Rocky64 wrote:

A few days ago in post #199 I wrote that it's "not bloody likely" that it'd be possible to construct a position in which the only way to win is to "promote" to a P, if such a move were legal. (This is a much harder task than creating a position where a "non-promotion" move is the only way to salvage a draw, examples of which have already been shown in this thread.) However, I couldn't resist the challenge and now have actually composed such a position! 

 
The BQ threatens mates on a8 and f7, severely limiting White's options. 1.exf8(Q) or 1.exf8(R) pins the N and stalemates Black immediately. 1.exf8(B) guards g7 and allows Black to deflect the f5-N with 1...Ne7+ forcing 2.Nxe7 or Bxe7 stalemate. 1.exf8(N) guards h7 and means Black can remove the f6-N with 1...Nxf6+ forcing 2.gxf6 stalemate. If 1.e8(Q), Black still draws with 1...Qxf7+ 2.Qxf7 Ne7+ 3.Nxe7 stalemate. Stockfish confirms that other white moves like 1.Nxd6? actually loses.
 
Now if non-promoting were legal, then 1.exf8(P)!! wins because none of the stalemates would work. 1...Ne7+ 2.Nxe7 Kg7, or 1...Nxf6+ 2.gxf6 Kh7, or 1...Nh6 2.Nxh6 Kg7. Even after 1...Nxf6+ 2.gxf6, White is still a piece ahead and so wins the ending easily.

 

I misread the first move as 1. e8=P which fails to 1...Qxf7#.