Rule question

Sort:
Avatar of orolhawion
Hi all, Imagine the following setup (white to move): Black king on d1 Black pawn on c2 White queen on b2 Now qa1+ it's white's next move. In the chess.com iPhone app Black's move c1 is denied. Why is that? Is there a rule I do not know?
Avatar of Crazychessplaya

Could the pawn on c2 be pinned by a queen on a4, for example?

Avatar of orolhawion
No. The pieces mentioned above are the only pieces in the game..
Avatar of Nytik

Well then this position is completely illegal, since white doesn't have a king!

Avatar of orolhawion
Of course white has king on g7.. Sorry.
Avatar of orolhawion
On another chess app the move c1 is possible. So this is a bug, isn't it?
Avatar of ozzie_c_cobblepot

Seems like c1=Q is a good move there and should be allowed.

Avatar of ozzie_c_cobblepot

Seems like you might be talking about this game.

http://www.chess.com/echess/game.html?id=47814535

I'm not sure where in the game your theoretical scenario happens.

Avatar of orolhawion
It doesn't. I just found this while using the analysis board..
Avatar of ozzie_c_cobblepot

Gotcha