Endgame didn't get what I posted and he's claiming that every move was forced. I sincerely hope not given that it ended 0-1.
Any other sequence of moves leads to the same mate. The black moves such as kh8 instead of g8 delay it as long as possible. That's why white had to go to h6 first and then to g6 to maintain the opposition and make it blacks move. In fact, that manuevre is the basis behind this Endgame study:
Regarding 'unsatisfactory draws' and 'unfair looking wins' and 'vague rules'.
'mating material' has been an issue over the years.
With two knights only versus lone King mate can't be forced apparently.
There are 'helpmates'.
Is it a fact that if the lone King is on move he can always avoid mate regardless of the position?
Tried it just now - to set up a position where black is shuttling between g8 and h8 surrounded by the white king and two white knights with one of the knights controlling f8. White will need Nf7 or Ng6 to mate but there seems to be no way to force mate unless black 'helps' with Kh8 at the critical moment instead of Kf8.
You can also set up helpmates with knight versus bishop, knight versus knight,
bishops moving on opposite colors, but not bishops moving on same, and bishop versus knight doesn't work either as the knight can sacrifice itself?
-------------------------------
Edit: A nice person kindly messaged me that a helpmate with bishop versus knight is also possible - as a bishop could 'adjacent mate' the King that has a knight. For example: A bishop on f8 (or on h6) mates a King on h8 with Bg7#. The other King could be on f7 and a knight on f8 or f6 goes to h7 'helping' the mate.
So I added this edit and added a question mark at the end of 'sacrifice itself'.
---------------------------------------------------
Hey! Even knight versus rook has a helpmate!
But when you look at all these helpmates the side with the lone king always also had another move option before the helpmate position that makes that checkmate position impossible.
Now how about King and knight versus King and h-pawn? (or a-pawn) ...
there are positions where the knight mate can be forced!
But if the flag of the player with the knight drops -
does the side with the edge-pawn win?
I'm sure there's been some 'arguments' in tournaments about that.
And maybe the side with the knight should try to claim a win in advance because there's a forced mate of the edge-King?
Point: Draws need to be clearly and simply defined.
But without making the game rules more complicated.
There's quite a lot of rules as it is.