You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
Please spell out the point in a way that I can understand.
No,I'm not going to explain anything to you. If you don't get it,ask mommy or daddy to explain to you why it's rude to attempt to run an opponent off the clock in a completely drawn position. If you don't understand such a simple concept of etiquette and sportsmanship,you are hopeless. If you need this explained to you,you are hopeless.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
Please spell out the point in a way that I can understand.
It's a friendly game, there is nothing at stake, trying to win 15mins later cause your opponent timed out in a friendly game when nothing is at stake makes you a douchebag.
If you still don't understand, gaga googa me no likey. I'm assuming that's around your level.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
Please spell out the point in a way that I can understand.
It's a friendly game, there is nothing at stake, trying to win 15mins later cause your opponent timed out in a friendly game when nothing is at stake makes you a douchebag.
If you still don't understand, gaga googa me no likey. I'm assuming that's around your level.
There appears to be a contradiction. He agrees to a game with a time control, but does not agree to a game decided by (only) the time control.
Like someone else said, 50 move rule, not a big deal.
Also can just get up and go start a new game. Of course no reason to play that guy again, not a good player plus has a poor attitude.
I guess it's different if it's a guy you know and you expect (or hope) for better.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it. gg.
this misses the point entirely,but at 1400, I don't expect you to be very smart.
Please spell out the point in a way that I can understand.
It's a friendly game, there is nothing at stake, trying to win 15mins later cause your opponent timed out in a friendly game when nothing is at stake makes you a douchebag.
If you still don't understand, gaga googa me no likey. I'm assuming that's around your level.
There appears to be a contradiction. He agrees to a game with a time control, but does not agree to a game decided by (only) the time control.
obvious troll is obvious. Please ignore and don't feed him.
If you are going to play a game, you can't pull out of it, unless you resign... once started, it must have an end.
Heinzie, a draw is a legitimate end in chess as well. Only a complete idiot will continue playing in the situation described by OP. If the other player had only a couple of seconds in his clock I would somehow understand the attempt to flag him, but here both had almost 10 min or something. One can easily draw that ending by threefold repetition or 50 move rule in that situation anyway if you have 10min. And in a real tournament you can just call the arbiter to declare the draw if the other guys refuses it.
Even if he ran the clock out there wasnt sufficient material on the board to mate with. Doesnt matter that a pawn could be promoted, at the time the clock ran out the material was not enough to mate. So even if your clock ran out it was still a draw due to insufficient material.
Even if he ran the clock out there wasnt sufficient material on the board to mate with. Doesnt matter that a pawn could be promoted, at the time the clock ran out the material was not enough to mate. So even if your clock ran out it was still a draw due to insufficient material.
I'm afraid you are wrong, as long as there is a pawn on the board, there is sufficent material.
Even if he ran the clock out there wasnt sufficient material on the board to mate with. Doesnt matter that a pawn could be promoted, at the time the clock ran out the material was not enough to mate. So even if your clock ran out it was still a draw due to insufficient material.
That doesn't make any sense. If a legal series of moves could create mate, then it's considered sufficient material.
The only exception may be lone king vs two knights which you may have to claim as insufficent losing chances or something.
ok so with the 1 hand rule; my normal club (home in Australia) plays with the correct rules etc. Unfortunatly, this 'short-term' club is a bit slacker/whatever and everyone plays with two hands, hence my opponent does have an advantage over me. Not a legal one, but who am I to travel accross the world, join their club and tell them theyre doing it all wrong, especially when Im leaving in a few months anyway? As you can tell by the way the club head acted, its not a very well run or 'good' club. The head owns a small cafe that we use to play in, and its all a pretty 'slack' affair. 50move rule, yes I perhaps should've played for that instead, but I had a 'short fuse' that day, and once I saw that it was a draw, I wanted it called straight away.
Even if he ran the clock out there wasnt sufficient material on the board to mate with. Doesnt matter that a pawn could be promoted, at the time the clock ran out the material was not enough to mate. So even if your clock ran out it was still a draw due to insufficient material.
That doesn't make any sense. If a legal series of moves could create mate, then it's considered sufficient material.
The only exception may be lone king vs two knights which you may have to claim as insufficent losing chances or something.
you are the one not making sense. It's not about " a legal series of moves",it's about what's on the board at the time. A pawn is a pawn is a pawn,and it's nothing more,unless you promote it. If the pawn hasn't promoted,you can't say "well,after x moves it would have", it's a pawn,and it will be treated as such. Therefore,it's not enough material to mate.
You agreed on the time control, and your opponent took advantage of it.
...to make himself look a right prat - yes, indeed.