Stalemate

Sort:
The_Philosopher

Is there any ruling on how many times both sides are allowed to repeat the same move consecutively or does it automatically become stalemate?

NRTG

it is not moves its positions. if the same position occurs three times then either player can claim a draw. it is important to remember that castling rights are a part of the position and as such must also be the same. it is also worth noting that these three positions need not be consecutive.

Pat_Zerr

I think the 50 move rule works, as well.  After 50 moves with no capture or pawn move, you can click on "claim draw" and the game will end in stalemate.  Same goes for repeating the same position 3 times in a row.  It doesn't do it for you automatically.

NRTG

it does not need to be consecutive. for example the position could occur on move 12 ,26 and 38.

Pat_Zerr

OK, I was under the impression that the repetitive position had to occur three times in a row.  Good to know that's not the case.

TheMouse2

A stalemate is always announced automatically by the system. Hewever draws by 3fold repitition or 50 move rule need to be claimed by one of the players.