Touch move rule question

Sort:
Avatar of CalvinMarshallOH

My opponent pushed his pawn to d8.  The extra queen was behind other pieces, he pushed a knight out of the way to grab the queen, and then placed it on d8.  I didn't say anything, but since he touched the knight first, should he have been forced to promote to a knight?

 

Avatar of JuergenWerner
No
Avatar of fryedk
@mickynj that is not true- if you accidentally touch a piece, you MUST verbally tel your opponent it was an accident, by saying "adjust" or something similar. Otherwise, your opponent would be allowed to force you to move that piece. Now whether this applies to pieces off the board during promotion, I doubt it.
Avatar of Lagomorph

 Wow. i would hate to play against you. What if i touched my coffee cup first?

Avatar of RookSacrifice_OLD

Touch move rule does not apply to pieces off the board.

Avatar of chadnilsen
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Lagomorph
fryedk wrote:
@mickynj that is not true- if you accidentally touch a piece, you MUST verbally tel your opponent it was an accident, by saying "adjust" or something similar. Otherwise, your opponent would be allowed to force you to move that piece. Now whether this applies to pieces off the board during promotion, I doubt it.

 

Under FIDE rules....

"J'adoube" must be said when intentionally touching a piece but not with the intention of moving it (to centre it on a square for example). Accidentally touching a piece require no such announcement. Rule 4.2.1

 

When promoting , the choice of piece is only finalised when it touches the promotion square  Rule 4.4.4

 

 

Avatar of chadnilsen

Well said Lagomorph.

 

And if you touched your coffee cup fryedk would definitely make you move it.

Avatar of Daybreak57

There is the common sense rule.  If your opponent touches the king and it's obvious he wanted to move his queen instead and not just move the king for no reason whatsoever because it cannot castle just yet then a nice player will allow his opponent to take back the move and move another piece.  Normally you'd have to say "I adjust" or "Adjust" before you move the piece around before you can touch a piece without having to move it but there are exceptions.  If you keep doing it over and over again then something is about to hit the fan and we know it doesn't smell good...

Avatar of chadnilsen

e8=C 

^^ That's how you promote to a coffee cup.

Avatar of Lagomorph
chadnilsen wrote:

e8=C 

^^ That's how you promote to a coffee cup.

 

Checkmate  null

Avatar of chadnilsen

Where in the world did you get that picture????!!!!