Touching pieces rule clarifications

Sort:
Avatar of soneill

2 questions regarding the topic of touching pieces.

[1] Is a player allowed adjust an opponents pieces assuming the "I adjust" declaration is made OR may they only adjust their own pieces and 'request' their oppnent to adjust their own pieces?

[2] If during a game an opponent touches a piece but does not move it immediately and spends some time considering their next move and then moves a piece other than the one initially touched.  If the moving the 'initial' piece is considered to be less advantageous to their opponent can the opponent 'overlook' this rule and let the other piece move stand? 

Avatar of Pre_VizsIa

Great questions! Unfortunately I do not know the answer to either question but hopefully someone will come along and answer them.

Avatar of MSC157

I guess you always should say "J'adoube" or whatever, before touching the piece. But most (fair) players won't complain if it's obvious you just adjusted it.

Avatar of qrayons

I like to spread out all my fingers and touch 10 of my pieces at the same time.

Avatar of soneill

Article 4: The act of moving the pieces

 

 

4.2

Provided that he first expresses his intention (for example by saying „j’adoube“ or “I adjust”), the player having the move may adjust one or more pieces on their squares.

Above from FIDE Laws of Chess  seems to imply that you may only adjust either your own or your opponents pieces providing it is your turn to move.  This seems a bit strange as you could therefore in theory turn your opponents knights to face various directions (though admittedly waste your time in doing so).

4.3

Except as providedin Article 4.2, if the player having the move deliberately touches on the chessboard:

 

a.

one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched which can be moved

So it seems if your opponents touches a piece, does not move it and subsequently move another piece, which you consider to be an inferior move, you can choose to ignore 4.3.a!!!

 

Avatar of x-6220342538

I am playing someone who taps my king to show when in check, and taps pieces he has attacked after he moves. Is that legal?

Avatar of Strangemover

AntFFT wrote:

I am playing someone who taps my king to show when in check, and taps pieces he has attacked after he moves. Is that legal?

Annoying. Why would you point out what you are threatening to your opponent?

Avatar of x-6220342538

It is very annoying, and he only seems to do it when he is up and winning. Is it allowed/tecnically legal?

Avatar of howlongjoe

A game is in progress, my oponant adjusts one of my pieces without asking to do so. I believe that you cannot touch to adjust another persons pieces on the board. He may request that you adjust your piece if it is not positioned on the board correctly, or in a confusing position where it hangs half way or more on his square. I feel he has no right to adjust my pieces. Can you put me right on that please.

Avatar of cellomaster8
He can, but he must say “I adjust.” BEFORE adjusting it. It’s not illegal, but it can be a bit irritating
Avatar of cellomaster8
Oh and I hope you declared “Touch Move” before the game. Otherwise, your opponent can touch all the pieces he wants
Avatar of howlongjoe

So if I don't like the way my opponent's pieces are situated on the chess board provided I say "I adjust"  I can adjust his pieces to sit in their right positions on the board? And do I have to say, "Touch Move before the game starts? I have never heard of that rule before. Must remember to say it in future.

As I have the F.I.D.E rules at the club, its going to be hard to explain that touch rule to other player's as it's not mentioned in their rules. Does every club have their own rules, or are we to play according to the F.I.D.E rules? It is important we know this as I don't want player's to become confused with the touch rule. Thanks, Joe.

Avatar of howlongjoe

Thanks James, that information is very helpful and has cleared up what has been questioned for a long time. If I could print this information out I would display it on our notice board. Thanks, Joe Commisso.

Avatar of oregonpatzer

If my opponent's army is in disarray, I just leave it like that as a sign of his poor discipline.  Yes, a player can always waive the touch move rule for a single move if he likes the move actually made better than the one opponent was originally threatening to make.

Avatar of howlongjoe

Another way of looking at is, in war would you go across to the other side and say, Could you please move that soldier so I can get to the one behind you? No way, you would be shot. And that's how I look at it in chess. Nobody touches your pieces otherwise you may as well as play his her side as well. The only time as far as i'm concerned that you touch your opponent's pieces is when you capture them, and I will continue to argue that point. Joe. C.

Avatar of hanweihehai

depend on how you touch the piece ,so, the oponent can understand your action ,normally , it's easy to know what you are doing