What is the result when...

Sort:
Avatar of Magician_Misha

Hey guys, just thought about it.

What if you have captured your opponent's king in the corner when you have only a knight and your opponent has that rook pawn, he is supposed to push the pawn and get mated by force....

BUT WHAT IF YOUR OPPONENT WAITS TILL HE REACHES 0 SECONDS(HE FLAGS HIMSELF).Will that be  considered a draw because You have only a knight that is not a mating material, right!!??

Please post your views and if anybody knows the answer, please let me know.

Thanks!

Avatar of Magician_Misha

 

Avatar of Magician_Misha

can black wait till he is flagged?

 

Avatar of Monie49
Draw
Avatar of Shadow_Dragon_86

That is a very good question, and it technically should be a win for white if the opponent flags, since although the knight alone is not mating material, with the pawn there is enough material on the board to mate, so I am pretty sure it is considered a win for white even if black flags.

Avatar of The_Ghoul

You can actually claim a win if you have mate in 1.

Avatar of asdasdv

"The game is drawn when a position is reached from which a checkmate cannot occur by any possible series of legal moves" the fide rules say nothing about what pieces are on the board, only that it isn't possible to mate from the position. if black waits for their time to run out, it is not a draw since there is a series of moves leading to checkmate

Avatar of DanielGuel
This stuff is not going to occur anyway because FIDE time controls have a 30-second increment so that no one flags.
Avatar of TiradorAko

Black cannot promote the pawn and white does not have enough material to effect a checkmate. It's a draw. 

Avatar of Preggo_Basashi

If black lets his time run out on a website it's a draw. In real life it's a win.

Avatar of The_Ghoul

On asking the question to an International Arbiter in India, I found out that you can claim a win from any position, if you have checkmate in a definite number of moves.

Avatar of The_Ghoul

The result is a win for the player with the Knight.

Avatar of vesna10

what?

Avatar of Magician_Misha

Yes, even I think it is supposed to be a win if there is a FORCED mate.

Avatar of Magician_Misha

DeirdreSkye wrote:

But doesn't USCF  rules clearly state that the side that wins must have adequate material to checkmate?

 

 

What happens if Black flags here?

This is a draw but if Black plays wrong he can be checkmated.

I think this is a draw according to USCF rules(not enough material) but still a win for white according to FIDE rules(there is a legal checkmate position).

but in this case, I think it is a draw as there is no FORCED mate. it's not about mate PATTERNS.... it is about a forced sequence of moves which lead to mate

Avatar of uri65
Jagadish03 wrote:
DeirdreSkye wrote:

But doesn't USCF  rules clearly state that the side that wins must have adequate material to checkmate?

 

 

What happens if Black flags here?

This is a draw but if Black plays wrong he can be checkmated.

I think this is a draw according to USCF rules(not enough material) but still a win for white according to FIDE rules(there is a legal checkmate position).

but in this case, I think it is a draw as there is no FORCED mate. it's not about mate PATTERNS.... it is about a forced sequence of moves which lead to mate

FIDE rules don't require forced mate, it's enough to have legal sequence leading to mate. Basically that means if you can construct a helpmate then it's a win.

Avatar of gingerninja2003

i think on chess.com it's a draw but OTB it's a win.