That just changed chess forever🙄🙄🙄😂😂😳😳🤫😳
Why is it an ILLEGAL move

I’d rather leave it as a pawn. It’s a strange rule to FORCE you to convert it. I wonder what the lLOGIC behind it is.
The pawn only moves forward. On the last rank, it's done - not blocked by another piece but the board. In chaturanga, I believe it promotes to whatever was there in the original position. So not too strange at least to me.

So, the pawn finally gets there to the eighth rank. But it doesn’t matter because it will be taken anyway. Eighth rank, seventh rank it doesn’t matter.
But……you have to convert it
Hmmm. A queen? A rook . Stuff it I’ll just leave it as a pawn. Wait a minute .
The final indignity….Let’s make it a queen so it can go out with a bang😳😳😳
That pawn looks cool there😳😳😳
particularly as it legally moved one move forward 😂