Forums

Account closed

Sort:
One-million-games
Hi everyone, I noticed some closed accounts just have account closed🚫. It doesn't say fair play or abuse or inactive. What does the sign mean?
krudsparov

It means they've just packed up and gone, either got bored of chess 😲😲😲 or they are going to open a new account so they can join a tournament 800-1000 when they are actually 100s of points higher.

One-million-games

Then it would say inactive

Martin_Stahl

Some of it depends on if the account was closed in v2 or v3. When an account is closed in v3, the icon is more descriptive. So, if it has the red icon above, but no real description, it was likely closed in v2 and likely a self-closed account.

One-million-games

Oh okay thanks for the info!

david
ashraf_h1983 wrote:

When an account is closed because of fair play .. How does it  known if a player is using a computer or cheating on the game?

See the following links for some insights:

https://www.chess.com/article/view/chess-com-fair-play-and-cheat-detection

https://support.chess.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1444879-fair-play-on-chess-com-what-you-need-to-know

https://www.chess.com/blog/DanielRensch/cheating-on-chesscom

However, Chess.com is not going to discuss any specifics of its cheat detection methods in the public forums - that would be counter productive. You can, however, get some insights in the Cheat Detection Club at https://www.chess.com/club/cheating-forum

David, moderator

NateTheGreat5678

Some accounts are closed by chess.com staff because of violated fair play

 

andrewdowden

What do you mean?

NateTheGreat5678
andrewdowden wrote:

What do you mean?

I mean that someone was caught cheating.

andrewdowden

Interesting.

andrewdowden

So he was cheating.

*Witcher hmm activated*

Hmmm.

aviation18

It's a back-end closure

wally1746

If the account was closed more recently, it was probably closed on the member's request by chess.com staff, usually because they would like to start a new account but still keep their old membership. That's what I asked staff to do with my old account and I still got to keep my gold membership on this one.