Declaring a Draw...

Sort:
cubboy

  1. A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row) 

How does chess.com handle this, if it can.  What if someone declares a draw, based on the above rule, but the other person doesn't accept.  Just wondering about this rule in general (the same exact position three times) and what chess.com can do about it, if anything.

great site.

Upabushtrack

The "offer draw" button changes to "claim draw" after threefold repetition.

omnipaul

When the servers detect that a position has been reached for the 3rd time according to the appropriate rules, then the "Offer Draw" button will turn into a "Claim Draw" button, and if either player clicks on it, the game is declared drawn.  The other player would not get a chance to accept or deny the draw, since they implicitly accepted it by allowing the position to be repeated for the 3rd time.

cubboy

Thanks for the help, although I did not notice if the site changed from "offer draw" to "claim draw".  I was down a little in material and had the my opponent's queen trapped.There was one safe move for her and we must've made the same move at least 6 times.  I would've taken a draw, if I had seen the option to do so.  Hopefully, it was there and I just missed it.  Thanks again for the help.