I WANT TO MAKE AN APPEAL!

Sort:
frrixz

http://www.chess.com/livechess/game.html?id=158247508

Draw by Threefold Repetition: see moves 55, 59, and 61.

I declared a draw on chat and hit the "draw" button repeatedly before and after making move 61. (I was white) later I "lost on time".

Why wasn't it a draw like it should have been?

Is there any way I can make an appeal?

trysts

Both players have to be in the same exact position three times. I didn't see that occur in the game you linked.

frrixz

See moves 55, 59, and 61 (click on White's move).

checkmateibeatu
White to move on moves 55,59 and 61 were the same exact position.
posporov051560

"You declared a draw" Are you a player and arbiter at the same time? If your opponent accept your draw offer then it's a draw but if he declined it, you have to continue the game. There is no threefold repetition either.

frrixz

How is there no threefold repetition? (see moves 55, 59, and 61)

Why isn't threefold repetition enforced here? (If it is, HOW?)

checkmateibeatu
Actually, that is not true. I declared a draw in a three-fold repetition in Live Chess and it was a draw.
checkmateibeatu
When a three fold repetition happens, you click the draw button and the game is declared drawn.
frrixz

Did you move and then immediately click the "draw" button?

checkmateibeatu
Yeah.
frrixz

Thanks, I'll remember that in the future.

checkmateibeatu
Whn the same situation occurs three times you hit the draw button and the game is then automatically a draw.
TadDude

The answer was already given by Cystem_Phailure in post #9 here.   http://www.chess.com/forum/view/help-support/threefold-repetition2

The valid claim of a draw was circumvented by the opponent's move, or premove, before the draw button could be clicked.

checkmateibeatu
And there WAS a repetition, don't deny that.
posporov051560

There is no threefold repetition even if you move Kf4 3x because black move his knight to d7 on 58th instead of Nd5 that makes it a draw.

posporov051560

@checkmateibeatu: yes there is repetition no doubt about it but there is no threefold repetition. Please refer to FIDE Laws of Chess. To have a threefold repetition there must be three consecutive same position. In frrixz"s situation black avoided it by playing 58...Nd7.

polydiatonic
I do not think this s correct. The same position must b repeated 3x with the same player on the move. It does NOT have to be 3 moves in a row, that is unless the rules have changed. .... ... .... posporov051560 wrote: @checkmateibeatu: yes there is repetition no doubt about it but there is no threefold repetition. Please refer to FIDE Laws of Chess. To have a threefold repetition there must be three consecutive same position. In frrixz"s situation black avoided it by playing 58...Nd7.
posporov051560
polydiatonic wrote:
I do not think this s correct. The same position must b repeated 3x with the same player on the move. It does NOT have to be 3 moves in a row, that is unless the rules have changed. .... ... .... posporov051560 wrote: @checkmateibeatu: yes there is repetition no doubt about it but there is no threefold repetition. Please refer to FIDE Laws of Chess. To have a threefold repetition there must be three consecutive same position. In frrixz"s situation black avoided it by playing 58...Nd7.

Yes the same player move Kf4 3x but you have to consider black's move as well. Did he move Nb6 - Nd5 3x? Threefold repetition was broken when black move 58...Nd7. Please refer to the game (post # 1)

posporov051560

Assuming it does NOT have to be 3x in a row, still I can't find a position that were repeated 3x. Please have a look starting at white's 55th move 55.a4. A move to be completed there must be one white move and one black move.

apteryx

FIDE laws of chess: The game is drawn upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by a repetition of moves)

It is repetition of position not repetition of moves that counts.

However according to the FIDE laws, you have to claim before you make your move, could this be why the draw didn't happen?