Position repeated 3 times, but there was no option to 'Claim Draw'

Sort:
Avatar of BrokenCircles

I submitted this yesterday, as a Ticket(??) to 'Support.' The times that I stated, are no longer correct. I am not changing anything though, so those times will stay.

This is what I submitted↓

=========================================================

BrokenCircles (Member) 15 Jul 2011 11:07 AM
Clarification: A couple years ago, the first time I thought it should have been a draw due to this rule, I discovered afterwards, that the draw has to be accepted. That is not what happened this time.

I had clicked "stay on this game." After my move, there was no option for "Claim Draw." The option was still "Offer Draw." I even refreshed my board a few times.

This happened around 30 minutes ago. He has since made his next move (probably about 15-20 minutes ago). There was plenty of time, between my last move and his last move, for me to "claim the draw."

It's actually disappointing. I am ready for this game to be finished. It's not my fault that he keeps running in circles.

Unless it has something to do with who actually made the move??
BUT, I didn't think that was how it worked. I apologize, if I am not wording the moves correctly, but I will try.

After his turn on Move 63
After his turn on Move 66
After my turn on Move 69

(We only have 3 pieces)
After each of those moves↑ I mentioned, those 3 pieces were here↓.
His pawn on B3
His King on B4
My King on A1

As far as I know, it was nothing that I did wrong. Nor was it me missing the opportunity. Like I said, that's happened before, so I know what to look for. Well, at least I thought so, but it wasn't there.

Thanx,
BC

Ticket #: 223160
Department: Game & Ratings Issues

http://www.chess.com/echess/game.html?id=44336016

============================================================

Personally, I thought I had made it quite clear, that I was wanting to claim the draw on this game, and be done with it. Apparently this message was not as clear as I had thought it was, because the only response that I got from 'Support,' was someone explaining the rule to me.

Obviously, I already knew the rule, or I would not be asking why the option for me to 'Claim Draw,' did not appear.

Now I shall try again- Is there possibly another detail, that I am unaware of, that has caused this game to not give me the option of 'Claiming Draw'???

The exact same position has been repeated 3 different times.

 

Thanks,

BC

Avatar of TadDude
BrokenCircles wrote:

... I was wanting to claim the draw on this game, and be done with it. Apparently this message was not as clear as I had thought it was, because the only response that I got from 'Support,' was someone explaining the rule to me.

Obviously, I already knew the rule, or I would not be asking why the option for me to 'Claim Draw,' did not appear.

Now I shall try again- Is there possibly another detail, that I am unaware of, that has caused this game to not give me the option of 'Claiming Draw'???

The exact same position has been repeated 3 different times.

 

Thanks,

BC


Click on the draw button whatever it says Offer or Claim. On a valid claim your opponent does not have the option to refuse.

Avatar of rooperi

The position was only repeated twice, on move 69 in the same position it is Black to move, not White.

Avatar of BrokenCircles
TadDude wrote:

Click on the draw button whatever it says Offer or Claim. On a valid claim your opponent does not have the option to refuse.


No.

Avatar of BrokenCircles
rooperi wrote:

The position was only repeated twice, on move 69 in the same position it is Black to move, not White.


Thank you. That was the only possibillity that I could think of as to why it was not offered.

I don't agree with that, and I think that should be clearly stated somewhere, but as far as I can tell, it is not. This is all I have found that states this rule=

"A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)"

When I click at each of those 3 position, I see the exact same position 3 different times. Doesn't matter if I agree or not though ;)  At least now I know.

 

Thank you,

BC