Two Moves

Sort:
PatTUES

Does Chess.com apply strict rules as to "once you touch a piece, that's the piece you have to move?"      I did that tonight - picked up a piece, was going to move it, opted not to and dropped it back where it had been, and I lost the turn, and my opponent got to move, which resulted in my opponent winning.    That's kind of messed up.   

Avii0034

Go to your game you might have dropped it on different square. There are no such rules on chesscom.

PatTUES

It was definitely the same square.    

Avii0034

Send game link

jetoba

If you want to make sure you don't accidentally drop the piece on a legal-move square (instead of the original square) then move your cursor off the board before dropping it.

PatTUES

Literally just happened again, and I picked the piece up and never moved it - change my mind which piece to move.    OK so, it looks like Chess.com is in fact applying the "once you touch the piece" rule.  Thanks.

manekapa
PatTUES wrote:

Literally just happened again, and I picked the piece up and never moved it - change my mind which piece to move.    OK so, it looks like Chess.com is in fact applying the "once you touch the piece" rule.  Thanks.

Which game and move?