Should it be legal for black to castle in this position?

Sort:
Avatar of waffllemaster
akafett wrote:

WHY would you want to promote to your opponent's color?

Since the promoted piece of the enemy color has the unique ability to absolutely block the square, you can compose a puzzle position where this is the only move to win.  (A friendly piece is captured, but an enemy piece cannot be captured by the enemy).  So for example you use it to prevent checkmate.

Would probably be super rare in actual play though.  Just like when promoting to a bishop is the only solution.

Avatar of akafett

So, you would be giving your opponent an extra piece. Your opponent could just move it if it's his. If the piece is not your opponent's, then it should not be the color he his playing. This rule, or interpretation thereof, is one I find illogical.

Avatar of FancyKnight
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of BigDoggProblem
akafett wrote:

WHY would you want to promote to your opponent's color?

1.b8= black N, mate.

Avatar of Somebodysson
Scottrf wrote:

Wouldn't it be White's black rook he is castling with? So no, because you can't move an opponents piece.

haha,precisely. Black can't castle because its white's black rook!! fun!

Avatar of Somebodysson
BigDoggProblem wrote:
akafett wrote:

WHY would you want to promote to your opponent's color?

 

1.b8= black N, mate.

cyute!

Avatar of MoonlessNight

When you promote to a piece of your opponents color, you are giving him an extra piece, and you can no longer control it.

Avatar of rahulrawal

I think black can't castle because rook is promoted by white. So it is White's rook in black. Therefore king is in check and can't be castled.

Please give a reply if this correct or not.

@MoonlessNight @Scottrf

@Rsava

Avatar of ChessDude009
akafett wrote:

WHY would you want to promote to your opponent's color?

You should check out some puzzles where checkmate is only possible if you promote to the opponents color.

Avatar of MyNameIsNotBuddy

Since when does your opponent get control over your piece if you promote onto a square of their color? That's not a rule.

Avatar of MyNameIsNotBuddy

Oh, I think I get it now. But you still can't castle if you've moved the rook, and since the original rook has clearly moved, you can't castle.

Avatar of TheBlueFriend

wait are pawns secretly spies?

Avatar of MyNameIsNotBuddy

Apparently you used to be able to make them so?

Avatar of vishaljbhandari

Good move

Avatar of ruthef1
Yes. That piece has never moved as a rook before. Although, it makes no difference in this point in time.
Avatar of WPyellow

This exact question actually appeared in a book I read. It didn't give an answer but I just wanted to point that out. I think it depends on whether or not you count that rook as still being the same piece it was when it was a pawn. If it's that pawn except in rook form then black can't castle since it has moved. If it's a brand new rook then black can castle since it hasn't even had an opportunity to move.