2011 European Club Cup

2011 European Club Cup

| 15 | Chess Event Coverage

Euro Club Cup 2011 banner.jpg

The 27th European Club Cup runs from 24 September - 2 October in Rogaška Slatina in Slovenia.

65 teams will be competing for the European Club title, team prizes, and individual prizes.

Participating clubs must be affiliated to the European Chess Union to take part, but their team members can hail from anywhere the world.

Team SOCAR Azerbaijan are the top seeds (Alexander Grischuk, Emil Sutovsky, Andrei Volotkin, Rustam Kasimdzhanov, Teimour Radjabov, Eltaj Safarli, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Rauf Mamedov).

2010 champions Economist Saratov will be defending their title. A full list of all the teams and their players can be found at the official website.

A separate women's competition will also take place, with 12 teams taking part headed by Cercle d'Echecs de Monte-Carlo (Hou Yifan, Anna Muzychuk, Pia Cramling, Monika Socko, Almira Skripchenko). 

The format is a 7-round Swiss event. The tournament schedule:

24-Sep  Opening Ceremony
25-Sep  1st Round
26-Sep  2nd Round
27-Sep  3rd Round
28-Sep  4th Round
29-Sep  5th Round
30-Sep  6th Round
 7th Round & Closing Ceremony


The time control is 40 moves in 90 minutes, then 30 minutes to finish, plus a 30 second increment from the start of the game.

All games start at 15:00 local time (13:00 UTC). More information and live game coverage can be found at the official website.

The top rated individual competitors:

Name  Nat Elo 
Ponomariov, Ruslan  UKR  2758
Grischuk, Alexander  RUS  2757
Radjabov, Teimour  AZE  2752
Gelfand, Boris  ISR  2746
Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar  AZE  2746
Svidler, Peter  RUS  2740
Adams, Michael  ENG  2733
Wang, Hao  CHN  2733
Vitiugov, Nikita  RUS  2726
Moiseenko, Alexander  UKR  2726
Giri, Anish  NED  2722
Nepomniachtchi, Ian  RUS  2718
Jakovenko, Dmitry  RUS  2716
Movsesian, Sergei  ARM  2715
Shirov, Alexei  ESP  2713
Jobava, Baadur  GEO  2712
Caruana, Fabiano  ITA  2712
Dreev, Aleksey  RUS  2711
Malakhov, Vladimir  RUS  2710
Tomashevsky, Evgeny  RUS  2710
Naiditsch, Arkadij  GER  2707
Berkes, Ferenc  HUN  2706
Bacrot, Etienne  FRA  2705
Andreikin, Dmitry  RUS  2705
Wojtaszek, Radoslaw  POL  2704
Efimenko, Zahar  UKR  2703
Laznicka, Viktor  CZE  2701
Zhigalko, Sergei  BLR  2696
Inarkiev, Ernesto  RUS  2692
Motylev, Alexander  RUS  2690

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix