2012 Chinese Chess Championships

2012 Chinese Chess Championships

| 15 | Chess Event Coverage

That's the chess championship of China, not the "chinese chess" championship just to be clear!

The 2012 Chinese Chess Championships take place from 27th March - 7th April in the city of Xinghua in Jiangsu Province, China.

The format is a single round-robin with 12 players taking part. There is also a separate women's championship in the same format, but women's world champion Hou Yifan (pictured) is taking on the men in the main event.

The top seed is Wang Yue, while Ding Liren will be defending the title he won last year.

Rounds start at 14:30 local time (06:30 UTC) except the last round which starts at 10:00 local time.  There is one rest day on 1st April, and the time control is 90 minutes plus a 30 second increment.

The full line-up:

Main Championship Women's Championship
Name Elo Name Elo
Wang Yue 2702 Ju, Wenjun  2557
Bu Xiangzhi 2668 Tan, Zhongyi  2438
Ding Liren 2660 Huang, Qian  2399
Hou Yifan 2639 Wang, Yu A.  2372
Ni Hua 2637 Wang, Jue  2366
Zhou Jianchao 2625 Zhang, Xiaowen  2354
Yu Yangyi 2615 Guo, Qi  2351
Zhao Jun 2583 Ding, Yixin  2350
Li Shilong 2549 Gu, Xiaobing  2257
Lu Shanglei 2514 Wang, Xiaohui  2209
Wang Chen 2490 Wang, Doudou  2186
Liu Qingnan 2461 Nie, Xin  2053

Hou Yifan suffered a setback, losing her first round game

Hou Yifan 7.jpg

The official site (in Chinese) is here, with the live games link here. English language coverage is available at the Sina chess blog.

Photo by Fanlulu at the Sina chess blog.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix