Chess - Play & Learn


FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

3-Way Tie In The Tashkent Grand Prix

3-Way Tie In The Tashkent Grand Prix

Tashkent Grand Prix 2012 banner.jpg

The 2012 FIDE Tashkent Grand Prix has ended with a 3-way tie for first place between Sergey Karjakin, Wang Hao and Alexander Morozevich on a score of 6½/11.

Alexander Morozevich and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov had led into the final round, but their fortunes didn't follow the same path. Morozevich drew an exciting final game with Peter Svidler, whereas Mamedyarov lost to Wang Hao to slip back from the leaders.

In the last game of the day to finish Sergey Karjakin defeated Ruslan Ponomariov to earn a share of first place, along with Alexander Morozevich and Wang Hao.

The winner's prize-money is shared between Karjakin, Wang Hao and Morozevich with each receiving €22,500. Grand Prix points will also be shared, as shown in the table below. If the tournament had used the common Sonnenborn-Berger tie-break method, then Karjakin would have been first, Wang Hao second, and Morozevich third.

The final standings of the 2012 FIDE Tashkent Grand Prix

# Name Fed Elo Pts GP Pts
1 Karjakin, Sergey  RUS 2775 140
2 Wang, Hao  CHN 2737 140
3 Morozevich, Alexander  RUS 2748 140
4 Kasimdzhanov, Rustam  UZB 2696 6 80
5 Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar  AZE 2764 6 80
6 Caruana, Fabiano  ITA 2786 6 80
7 Svidler, Peter  RUS 2747 50
8 Ponomariov, Ruslan  UKR 2741 50
9 Leko, Peter  HUN 2732 50
10 Gelfand, Boris  ISR 2751 30
11 Dominguez Perez, Leinier  CUB 2726 4 20
12 Kamsky, Gata  USA 2762 10


Alexander Morozevich drew with Peter Svidler in the final round




Wang Hao defeated Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

2012 Tashkent Grand Prix Round 11 Wang Hao.jpg



Sergey Karjakin beat Ruslan Ponomariov to claim a share of first place

2012 Tashkent Grand Prix Round  11 Sergey Karjakin.jpg



Leinier Domiguez beat Gata Kamsky in the battle to avoid last place




Peter Leko and Fabiano Caruana drew their game




Rustam Kasimdzhanov drew with Boris Gelfand

2012 Tashkent Grand Prix Round 11 Rustam Kasimdzhanov.jpg


The Grand Prix standings after 2 events

Name London  Tashkent  Total
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov  140 80 220
Wang Hao  70 140 210
Boris Gelfand  140 30 170
Veselin Topalov  140 140
Sergey Karjakin  140 140
Alexander Morozevich  140 140
Peter Leko  80 50 130
Rustam Kasimdzhanov  35 80 115
Alexander Grischuk  90 90
Fabiano Caruana  80 80
Michael Adams 55 55
Vasily Ivanchuk  55 55
Leinier Dominguez Perez  35 20 55
Peter Svidler  50 50
Ruslan Ponomariov  50 50
Hikaru Nakamura  15 15
Anish Giri  15 15
Gata Kamsky 10 10
Teimour Radjabov  0
Vugar Gashimov  0


The overall winner and runner-up of the 2012/13 FIDE Grand Prix will qualify for the March 2014 Candidates Tournament.  Before then, the 2013 Candidates take place in March in London, with the winner challenging Vishy Anand for the title in October/November 2013.

The Tashkent Grand Prix was the second tournament of the 2012/13 FIDE Grand Prix series (the first was in London). The third Grand Prix event will be in Lisbon in April/May next year. The remaining venues will be Madrid, Berlin and Paris.  Details of dates and participants are here.

Each tournament is a single round-robin featuring 12 out of the 18 players in the Grand Prix, and each player competes in four of the six events. The overall winner and runner-up of the Grand Prix qualify for the March 2014 Candidates Tournament.

The time control used in all events is 40 moves in 2 hours, followed by 20 moves in 1 hour, then 15 minutes plus a 30 second increment after move 60.

Photos by Anastasiya Karlovich and Bakhtiyor Jiyanov at the Tashkent Grand Prix website.  Games via TWIC.

The official regulations for the 2012 FIDE Grand Prix can be found here.

Online Now