Aeroflot Open 2013

Aeroflot Open 2013

| 7 | Chess Event Coverage


Over the course of many years, the Aeroflot Open in Moscow established itself as one of the biggest and strongest Open tournaments in the world.

Sadly, the 2013 edition of the event held from 12-17 February had a completely revised format. Instead of a 9-round Open Swiss at standard time controls, we were "treated" to a confusing mix of rapid and blitz events, and no classical chess at all.  A very strange decision by the organisers.

The event started with a 9-round rapid (15 minutes plus 10 second increment) qualifying competition of more than 250 players, with 32 players advancing to the next stage. Many of the last round games were agreed drawn in just a few minutes as leading players ensured their top-32 qualification places.  In some games, as little as 3 moves were played.  At the opposite extreme, one round 6 encounter lasted 194 moves!


The 32 qualifiers then played two rounds of a rapid KO competition (2-game mini-matches) to reduce the field to 8 survivors: Gata Kamsky, Anton Korobov, Le Quang Liem, Pavel Eljanov, Rauf Mamedov, Sanan Sjugirov, Dmitry Frolyanov and Aleksandr Shimanov.

These players were joined by 8 invited stars: Anatoly Karpov, Alexander Grischuk, Peter Svidler, Dmitry Andreikin, Sergey Karjakin, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Wang Hao and Shahriyar Mammadyarov for 4 more rounds of rapid KO matches.

The eventual winner was top seeded Sergey Karjakin, but only after his final opponent Alexander Grischuk lost on time in a completely won position in a final Armageddon game.


# Name Fed Elo
Winner Karjakin Sergey RUS 2809
Runner-up Grischuk Alexander RUS 2799
Semi-finalist Nepomniachtchi Ian RUS 2742
Semi-finalist Kamsky Gata USA 2760
Quarter-finalist Svidler Peter RUS 2757
Quarter-finalist Mamedyarov Shakhriyar AZE 2724
Quarter-finalist Wang Hao CHN 2702
Quarter-finalist Eljanov Pavel UKR 2678
Last 16 Korobov Anton UKR 2733
Last 16 Andreikin Dmitry RUS 2705
Last 16 Le Quang Liem VIE 2686
Last 16 Mamedov Rauf AZE 2651
Last 16 Sjugirov Sanan RUS 2633
Last 16 Frolyanov Dmitry RUS 2591
Last 16 Karpov Anatoly RUS 2652
Last 16 Shimanov Aleksandr RUS 2630


The separate blitz tournament (3 minutes plus 2 second increment) was won by Ian Nepomniachtchi with a score of 15½/18.  The top scorers were:

# Name Fed Elo Pts
1 Nepomniachtchi Ian  RUS 2723 15.5
2 Svidler Peter  RUS 2697 14.5
3 Grischuk Alexander  RUS 2860 14.0
4 Korobov Anton  UKR 2700 13.5
5 Karjakin Sergey  RUS 2901 13.5
6 Savchenko Boris  RUS 2601 13.5
7 Inarkiev Ernesto  RUS 2652 13.5
8 Mamedov Rauf  AZE 2651 13.5
9 Fressinet Laurent  FRA 2726 13.0
10 Nyzhnyk Illya  UKR 2619 13.0


The official website coverage (in Russian only) is here. The best source for surviving game scores is probably the ever-reliable TWIC.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix