Amber Bids Farewell

Amber Bids Farewell

| 22 | Chess Event Coverage

They say all good things must come to an end, but it's still a shock when it happens.

The 20th Amber Tournament will take place from 11-25 March 2011, but it will also be the last.

This year the venue reverts to Monaco, but the combined rapid/blindfold double round robin format that has made the tournament so distinctive remains unchanged.

The line-up for the final Amber competition has been confirmed, and fittingly it is excellent, with all the current top 10 playing (January rating list) except Mamedyarov.

 Magnus Carlsen   2814 
 Viswanathan Anand  2810
 Levon Aronian  2805
 Vladimir Kramnik  2784
 Sergey Karjakin  2776
 Veselin Topalov  2775
 Alexander Grischuk   2773
 Vassily Ivanchuk  2764
 Hikaru Nakamura  2751
 Vugar Gashimov  2736
 Boris Gelfand  2733
 Anish Giri  2686

The official press release:


   Amber Returns to Monaco for Farewell Jubilee Edition

The 20th Amber Blindfold and Rapid Tournament will take place at the Monte-Carlo Bay Hotel & Resort in Monaco, from March 11 to 25, 2011.

The tournament is organized by the Association Max Euwe of chess maecenas Joop van Oosterom, which is based in Monaco.

This 20th Amber tournament will be the final edition of an event unparalleled in the history of chess.

In this final jubilee edition the following grandmasters will take part: World Champion Viswanathan Anand (India), Magnus Carlsen (Norway), Levon Aronian (Armenia), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia), Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria), Alexander Grischuk (Russia), Vasily Ivanchuk (Ukraine), Sergey Karjakin (Russia), Boris Gelfand (Israel), Hikaru Nakamura (United States), Vugar Gashimov (Azerbaijan) and Anish Giri (The Netherlands).

The total prize-fund is € 227,000.


The first Amber tournament was held in Roquebrune, France, in 1992 to celebrate the birth of Mr and Mrs Van Oosterom's daughter Melody Amber. That first tournament was a rapid event won by Vasily Ivanchuk, the only player to have taken part in all Amber tournaments (and the shared winner, together with Magnus Carlsen, of last year's edition!).

In the tournament of 1993 the formula was introduced that made 'Amber' unique in the chess world: a double round-robin in which the grandmasters play both a rapid and a blindfold game against each other. The 1993 tournament took place in Monaco, which would become the home of 'Amber' till it moved to Nice in 2008.

For historical reasons Mr and Mrs Van Oosterom and the Association Max Euwe have chosen to return to Monaco for the farewell edition of this unique chess spectacle. The Monte-Carlo Bay Hotel & Resort will be an appropriate venue for a tournament that has been the favourite meeting place for the chess elite over the past two decades.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix