Anand Beats Kramnik At Corus

Anand Beats Kramnik At Corus

| 28 | Chess Event Coverage

Vishy Anand (pictured) has been virtually anonymous this year at Corus, with his efforts clearly directed more towards preparations for his upcoming world title defence against Veselin Topalov.

However, in today's penultimate round he inflicted Vladimir Kramnik's first defeat of the event, thereby leaving himself as the only undefeated player and handing the sole lead to Magnus Carlsen into the bargain.

It looked at one point as though Anand was settling for a draw by repetition, but he tried for more and achieved connected passed pawns that Kramnik couldn't hold back.

Carlsen had no such problems earning a draw against Leko, who has been a difficult opponent for him in the past. Dominguez v Ivanchuk and Caruana v Nakamura were hard fought draws, and the only other winner was Jan Smeets who caught his compatriot Van Wely in some sharp opening preparation for a quick knockout.

The draw for tomorrow's final round in the 'A' Group is:

Magnus Carlsen Fabiano Caruana
Vladimir Kramnik Sergey Karjakin
Alexei Shirov Leinier Dominguez
Loek Van Wely Vishy Anand
Hikaru Nakamura Sergei Tiviakov
Nigel Short Jan Smeets
Vassily Ivanchuk Peter Leko

In Group 'B' Anish Giri battled for 120 moves against back-marker Varuzhan Akobian a pawn up in a rook ending, before finally conceding a draw.  Nevertheless, Giri is a point clear of the field and only needs a draw in the final round against Negi to secure the tournament victory and earn his place in the 'A' Group next year.

In Group 'C' Li Chao wrapped up the tournament victory by agreeing a very quick draw (in nine moves!) against his opponent.  So the ratings favourite lived up to his billing, and will feature in Group 'B' in 2011.

The results in round 12:

Group A

Anand, Viswanathan  1-0  Kramnik, Vladimir
Karjakin, Sergey  ½-½  Shirov, Alexei
Leko, Peter  ½-½  Carlsen, Magnus
Dominguez Perez, Leinier  ½-½  Ivanchuk, Vassily
Caruana, Fabiano  ½-½  Nakamura, Hikaru
Tiviakov, Sergei  ½-½  Short, Nigel D
Smeets, Jan  1-0  Van Wely, Loek
Group B

Giri, Anish  ½-½  Akobian, Varuzhan
L'Ami, Erwin  ½-½  Reinderman, Dimitri
Ni Hua  ½-½  Nisipeanu, Liviu-Dieter
Howell, David W L  ½-½  So, Wesley
Sutovsky, Emil  ½-½  Harikrishna, P
Muzychuk, Anna  0-1  Naiditsch, Arkadij
Nyback, Tomi  1-0  Negi, Parimarjan
Group C

Robson, Ray  ½-½  Grandelius, Nils
Bok, Benjamin  1-0  Vocaturo, Daniele
Swinkels, Robin  ½-½  Lie, Kjetil A
Kuipers, Stefan  ½-½  Li Chao
Peng Zhaoqin  0-1  Plukkel, Sjoerd
Muzychuk, Mariya  1-0  Van Kampen, Robin
Soumya, Swaminathan  0-1  Gupta, Abhijeet


The standings with one round to go:

Group A

1 Carlsen, Magnus  NOR  2810 8
2 Kramnik, Vladimir  RUS  2788  
3 Shirov, Alexei  ESP  2723  
4 Anand, Viswanathan  IND  2790 7
5 Nakamura, Hikaru  USA  2708  
6 Karjakin, Sergey  UKR  2720  
7 Ivanchuk, Vassily  UKR  2749  
8 Leko, Peter  HUN  2739 6
9 Dominguez Perez, Leinier  CUB  2712 6
10 Caruana, Fabiano  ITA  2675 5
11 Short, Nigel D  ENG  2696  
12 Tiviakov, Sergei  NED  2662  
13 Van Wely, Loek  NED  2641  
14 Smeets, Jan  NED  2657 4

Group B

1 Giri, Anish  NED  2588  
2 L'Ami, Erwin  NED  2615  
3 Ni Hua  CHN  2657  
4 Naiditsch, Arkadij  GER  2687  
5 So, Wesley  PHI  2656 7
6 Harikrishna, P  IND  2672 6
7 Howell, David W L  ENG  2606 6
8 Negi, Parimarjan  IND  2621 6
9 Sutovsky, Emil  ISR  2657  
10 Muzychuk, Anna  SLO  2523 5
11 Nisipeanu, Liviu-Dieter  ROU  2681 5
12 Reinderman, Dimitri  NED  2573  
13 Nyback, Tomi  FIN  2643  
14 Akobian, Varuzhan  USA  2628  

Group C

1 Li Chao CHN  2604 9
2 Gupta, Abhijeet  IND  2577  
3 Robson, Ray  USA  2570  
4 Vocaturo, Daniele  ITA  2495 7
5 Van Kampen, Robin  NED  2456 7
6 Bok, Benjamin  NED  2322  
7 Swinkels, Robin  NED  2495  
8 Grandelius, Nils  SWE  2515 6
9 Kuipers, Stefan  NED  2340 6
10 Lie, Kjetil A  NOR  2547  
11 Peng Zhaoqin  NED  2402 5
12 Muzychuk, Mariya  UKR  2447 5
13 Soumya, Swaminathan  IND  2323 3
14 Plukkel, Sjoerd  NED  2279  


Selected games below.  All games are available at the official website.









More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix