Anand Leads In León

Anand Leads In León

SonofPearl
SonofPearl
Jun 3, 2011, 12:47 PM |
52 | Chess Event Coverage

On the first day of their 6-game rapid match, world champion Vishy Anand took the lead against Alexei Shirov 1.5-0.5 by winning their second encounter, with checkmate no less!

The official site can be found here. Games start at 16:30 local time in Spain (14:30 UTC, 10:30 Eastern) with each player having 45 minutes plus a 30 second increment.

The direct link for the games broadcast is here, and there is live video with Spanish commentary here.

Games 3 and 4 are on Saturday, and games 5 and 6 on Sunday.

 

 

Shirov is accompanied in León by his third wife WIM Olga Dolgova.  It will be their first wedding anniversary on 26 June!

Shirov and Olga.jpg
More from SonofPearl
Chess.com News Is Changing...

Chess.com News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix