Cheparinov has apologized

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage
The Corus press officer has just confirmed that the tournament committee have received Ivan Cheparinov's written apologies. At the moment it's not yet clear whether the game Short-Cheparinov will indeed be played. We'll keep you posted.

[Also check our new video.]

An emotional and still shaking Nigel Short entered the press room at 13:40, declaring "I've won. 1.e4 c5 and I won." He won his game by forfeit, after Cheparinov refused the to shake hands.

We are dealing with a new rule.

Behavioural norms of players in chess events. PB decision. June 25, 2007

Having discussed several recent cases in different chess tournaments where the attitude of players toward their opponent or officials, journalists etc. was not acceptable under conventional social behaviour, the FIDE Presidential Board ?¢‚Ǩ‚Äúat the suggestion of President Ilyumzhinov- decided on setting up strict rules regarding such behaviour.

Any player who does not shake hands with the opponent (or greets the opponent in a normal social manner in accordance with the conventional rules of their society) before the game starts in a FIDE tournament or during a FIDE match (and does not do it after being asked to do so by the arbiter) or deliberately insults his/her opponent or the officials of the event, will immediately and finally lose the relevant game.

Regarding a more comprehensive set of behavioural and ethical norms to be followed, FIDE Ethics Commission and the Arbiter's Council are to elaborate guidelines for the players. The guidelines will be published on the FIDE website.

A video of the incident, thanks to Chessdom:


Short's statement after the game:


Cheparinov refused to comment before the camera.

It's the first time this rule has been applied, but since it isn't part of the offical chess rules yet (at least, it hasn't been published in such way on the FIDE website, only as a press release) an appeal would make a decent chance. However, one of the members of the Appeals Committee is... Vladimir Kramnik, as Short pointed out himself with a smile.

On a more serious note: it's also relevant that the rules of chess can only be changed by the FIDE Congres and not by the Presidential Board.

In the meantime Danailov & Cheparinov are prepairing an appeal. They are of the opinion that the arbiter's decision was against current FIDE Laws of Chess and that the arbiter should have warned Cheparinov about the consequences. And the have a point, because shouldn't an arbiter try to prevent such scandals wherever possible?


To the Appeal Committee January 20th,2008

Corus chess tournament 2008





Dear All,

Today during the start of the round the following accident happened.

Mr. Cheparinov refused to shake hands with Mr. Short before the game.

The reason was: some time ago in one of his interviews Mr. Short insulted him and our team gravelly.

After that, Mr.Short complained to the Chief Arbiter of the Tournament ,who without previous warning immediately decide to put defeat to Mr.Cheparinov.

According to the rules of FIDE, this decision is illegal. There is a recommendation from the FIDE Presidential Board in Tallin June 2007about the Behavioural norms of players in chess events: First of all, this is only recommendation ,not an official FIDE rule because this recommendation must be approved on FIDE congress during the chess Olympiad in Dresden, November 2008. Even more, if the Arbiter would like to follow the recommendation of the FIDE PB in Tallin ,he made a big mistake ,because obviously he did not even check carefully the recommendation. Before to defeat the player he must ask him officially on the stage, that if he does not shake hand again he will be defeated. Instead of this ,the Chief Arbiter call Mr.Cheparinov to the private room and told him that he lost the game. Mr.Cheparinov replay ,that according to the recommendation (!) of FIDE he should ask him to shake hands ,before to take any decision. Even more, Mr.Cheparinov told him very clearly that if he oblige him to do this, he is ready to do it. Unexpectedly, the Arbiter did not pay any attention to his explanations and took the decision to defeat him. We protest this illegal decision ,and kindly ask to replay the game in one of the following rest days. Best regards, Silvio Danailov Manager GM Ivan Cheparinov

In name of Cheparinov, Silvio Danailov commented for our camera:


The Appeals Committe have decided:

Decision of the Appeals Committee in the dispute between Grandmasters Ivan Cheparinov and Nigel Short (8th round Grandmastergroup B) on January 20th 2008.

The Appeals Committee (GMs Vladimir Kramnik, Michal Krasenkow, Judit Polgar) agrees that refusal to shake hands with one's opponent before the game is an obvious violation of the behavioural norms of players in chess events.

According to the decision of FIDE Presidential Board taken in June 2007, any player who doesn't shake hands with his/her opponent (and doesn't do it after being asked to do so by the arbiter) will immediately lose the game.

However, according to the information obtained by the Appeals Committee, in the relevant case GM Cheparinov, after his initial refusal to shake hands with GM Short, didn't clearly reject the arbiter's request to do so.


1. We declare that GM Cheparinov must make a public excuse to GM Short in a written form before 11.00 hours January 21st 2008 for his refusal to shake hands. 2. Then the game between Ivan Cheparinov and Nigel Short has to be replayed on Monday January 21st 2008 at 13.30 hours. 3. Both players must shake hands at the start of the game. 4. Any player failing to comply with the present decision forfeits the game.

In order to avoid any conflicts in future we suggest the following procedure in similar cases: if one of the players deliberately refuses to shake his/her opponent's offered hand at the start of the game, the arbiter shall officially warn him/her and demand him/her to do so. Only if the player again refuses to shake hand, he/she automatically forfeits the game.

Tonight, Nigel Short left the venue with these last words for the journalists: "No way I'm going to play tomorrow!" So the soap continues...
More from PeterDoggers
Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory