Chinese women retain title on home ground at World Team Championship

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage
Women's World Team ChampionshipChina won the gold medal at the Women's World Team Championship on Saturday in Ningbo, China. The team (Hou Yifan, Zhao Xue, Shen Yang, Ju Wenjun and Huang Qian) finished on 12 match points, just like Russia (silver) and Ukraine (bronze), who collected less board points.

Photo: Ye Rongguang

The Women's World Team Championship took place September 1st-12th in Yinzhou, Ningbo, China. It was a round-robin of ten teams competing, each with five players, and the official FIDE time control was applied: 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes and 30 seconds increment.

The championship takes place every other year; the first edition was held in Russia in 2007, when China won. On Saturday they retained their title with four draws against Vietnam in the last round. This allowed Ukraine and Russia, who defeated Armenia and China's second team respectively, to reach the same number of match points (12) but China eventually took gold by half a board point.

Despite the fact that all games in the last round match between China and Vietnam seemed hard fought, it does look a bit like this match was fixed as a draw in advance, as Mark Crowther points out, since Vietnam had a big advantage on board one and a completely winning position on board four when the draws were agreed. You can decide for yourself below in the game viewer.

The best performing players were not on the winning team; IM Nadezhda Kosintseva (Russia) and Lilit Mkrtchian (Armenia) both scored 6.5/9 which was good for a rating performance just over 2600 in both cases. Hou Yifan, who stepped in immediately after the NH Chess Tournament, played rounds 2-6 and 8-9 and again scored somewhat disappointingly (4/7; 2498 performance).

Women's World Team Ch 2009 | Final standings
Women's World Team Ch 2009

Women's World Team Ch 2009 | Individual performances
Women's World Team Ch 2009

All games >2460 & China-Vietnam r9

Game viewer by ChessTempo


Peter Doggers

Peter Doggers joined a chess club a month before turning 15 and still plays for it. He used to be an active tournament player and holds two IM norms.

Peter has a Master of Arts degree in Dutch Language & Literature. He briefly worked at New in Chess, then as a Dutch teacher and then in a project for improving safety and security in Amsterdam schools.

Between 2007 and 2013 Peter was running ChessVibes, a major source for chess news and videos acquired by in October 2013.

As our Director News & Events, Peter writes many of our news reports. In the summer of 2022, The Guardian’s Leonard Barden described him as “widely regarded as the world’s best chess journalist.”

In October, Peter's first book The Chess Revolution will be published!

Company Contact and News Accreditation: 

Phone: 1 (800) 318-2827
Address: 877 E 1200 S #970397, Orem, UT 84097

More from PeterDoggers
Yakubboev Wins UzChess Cup On Tiebreaks Ahead Of Abdusattorov

Yakubboev Wins UzChess Cup On Tiebreaks Ahead Of Abdusattorov

Niemann Secures Funds For $1 Million Buy-In Tournament

Niemann Secures Funds For $1 Million Buy-In Tournament