Corus 2010 Preview

Corus 2010 Preview

| 33 | Chess Event Coverage

corus-logo.jpgThe 72nd edition of the traditional curtain-raiser to the new chess year gets underway in Wijk Aan Zee in the Netherlands on 16 January.

Longstanding sponsor Corus are continuing their support of this great annual event, allowing the organisers to assemble an impressive field in the 'A' Group.

Such is the status of the tournament, that even the 'B' Group is a powerful and attractive tournament in its own right, with the 'C' Group also worth keeping an eye on.

The 'A' Group is headed by World Champion Vishy Anand, former champion Vladimir Kramnik, and current world #1 Magnus Carlsen.  Also in the mix is last year's winner Sergey Karjakin, the ever-popular and unpredictable Vassily Ivanchuk, and the still-improving Hikaru Nakamura.

Nigel Short and Fabiano Caruana are also playing, having been 'promoted' from the 'B' Group last year.

anna_muzychuk.jpgSpeaking of the 'B' Group, Arkadij Naiditch is the top seed, but many eyes will be on the talented youngsters Wesley So, Anish Giri and Parimarjan Negi. Female participation comes in the form of Anna Muzychuk (pictured).

Anna's younger sister Mariya competes in the 'C' Group, where Li Chao is the top seed.  However, the performance of 15 year-old GM Ray Robson will probably get most attention.


The full line-up in each group:

A Group NAT Rating
Magnus Carlsen NOR 2810
Viswanathan Anand IND 2790
Vladimir Kramnik RUS 2788
Vassily Ivanchuk UKR 2749
Peter Leko HUN 2739
Alexei Shirov SPA 2723
Sergey Karjakin RUS 2720
Leinier Dominguez CUB 2712
Hikaru Nakamura USA 2708
Nigel Short ENG 2696
Fabiano Caruana ITA 2675
Sergey Tiviakov NED 2662
Jan Smeets NED 2657
Loek van Wely NED 2641

B Group NAT Rating
Arkadij Naiditsch GER 2687
Liviu-Dieter Nisipeanu ROM 2681
Pentala Harikrishna IND 2672
Hua Ni CHN 2657
Emil Sutovsky ISR 2657
Wesley So PHI 2656
Tomi Nyback FIN 2643
Varuzhan Akobian USA 2628
Parimarjan Negi IND 2621
Erwin l'Ami NED 2615
David Howell ENG 2606
Anish Giri NED 2588
Dimitri Reinderman NED 2573
Anna Muzychuk SLO 2523

C Group NAT Rating
Li Chao-b CHN 2604
Abhijeet Gupta IND 2577
Ray Robson USA 2570
Kjetil Lie NOR 2547
Nils Grandelius SWE 2515
Robin Swinkels NED 2495
Daniele Vocaturo ITA 2495
Robin van Kampen NED 2456
Marya Muzychuk UKR 2447
Zhaoqin Peng NED 2402
Stefan Kuipers NED 2340
Soumya Swaminathan IND 2323
Benjamin Bok NED 2322
Sjoerd Plukkel NED 2279


Each group will compete in a 13-game round-robin contest, starting 16 January and finishing 31 January.  All games start at 1:30 pm local time (CET) except the final round which starts an hour earlier.  There are rest days on 20/25/28 January.

The official site can be found here, with regular reports on the action at!

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix