April 18-19: FIDE Candidates Countries Youth Online Chess Tournament

April 18-19: FIDE Candidates Countries Youth Online Chess Tournament

PeterDoggers
PeterDoggers
|
33 | Chess Event Coverage

The FIDE Candidates Countries Youth Online Chess Tournament is a team match for youth players representing China, France, Netherlands, Russia, USA, and FIDE. It will be played on Chess.com on April 18 and 19.

Since all over-the-board tournaments have been canceled due to COVID-19, the Chinese Chess Association made a plan to organize a series of online chess tournaments in order to evoke social positivity across the world and strengthen online chess communication.

All games can be followed by clicking here.

Together with FIDE and Chess.com, the CCA is organizing the first FIDE Candidates Countries Youth Online Chess Tournament from April 18-19, 2020 on Chess.com under the motto, "Go world! Be chess smart against COVID-19!"

The FIDE Candidates Tournament inspired the event to invite players from the five represented countries: China, USA, France, Russia, and the Netherlands. With the support of FIDE President Arkady Dvorkovich, FIDE also submitted a united team to join.

The event is organized by the International Chess Federation, the Board and Card Games Administrative Center of the General Administration of Sport of China, the Chinese Chess Association, and the Henan Sports Bureau. Co-organizers are the Henan Provincial Social Sports Center and Chess.com.

FIDE, China, France, Netherlands, Russia, and the USA have each entered a team of five top youth players (three boys and two girls) under 16 years old.

Teams & Coaches

# Fed Name Handle Rtg Born
- Ramesh RB (IND) (Coach) - -
1 GM Nihal Sarin (IND) @nihalsarin 2620 2004
2 GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov (UZB) @ChessWarrior7197 2627 2004
3 GM Vincent Keymer (GER) @VincentKeymer 2558 2004
4 FM Bibisara Assaubayeva (KAZ) @SaraBlackPanther 2364 2004
5 WFM Ineymig Hernandez Gil (CUB) @ineymig2004 2348 2004
- Yu Shaoteng/Wen Yang (Coach) - -
1 Huang Renjie @renjiehuang 2422 2004
2 Zhu Hengyi @1982lf 2202 2004
3 Zhang Di @zzdxer 2108 2007
4 WIM Ning Kaiyu @KateLLL 2327 2004
5 WIM Song Yuxin @eternallymind 2290 2005
- Christopher Bird (Coach) - -
1 IM Andrew Hong @SpeedofLight0 2444 2004
2 IM Christopher Yoo @ChristopherYoo 2455 2006
3 FM Robert Shlyakhtenko @Robert_Shlyakhtenko 2342 2005
4 WFM Martha Samadashvili @marthachess 2215 2004
5 WIM Rochelle Wu @tanki97 2028 2006
- Zhaoqin Peng (Coach) - -
1 FM Yichen Han @hanthaman 2307 2007
2 FM Onno Elgersma @onnoelgersma 2298 2004
3 FM Siem van Dael @Siemba 2293 2004
4 Eline Roebers @Eline2006 2066 2007
5 Wendy Huang @WendyHuang08 1860 2006
- Mikhail Kobalia (Coach) - -
1 IM Volodar Murzin @Volodar_Murzin 2465 2006
2 IM Stefan Pogosyan @RussianChessFighter 2442 2004
3 IM Rudik Makarian @Rud_Makarian 2442 2004
4 WGM Leya Garifullina @Earthen_Deer 2357 2004
5 Alisa Nur-Mukhametova @Alisa_Nur_2005 2262 2005
- Mathilde Choisy (Coach) - x
1 IM Marc Andria Maurizzi @Marcan2b 2433 2007
2 FM Timothé Razafindratsima @TimAina 2336 2006
3 FM Mahel Boyer @Misterlose0 2294 2004
4 Elise Tomasi @Nutella13 2030 2004
5 WFM Laura Sumarriva Paulin @Laurasum 2023 2005

The tournament is a single round-robin consisting of five rounds with a time control of 10 minutes with a two-second increment. The first three rounds will be played on April 18; the final two rounds on April 19.

Each match will be conducted over five boards. The board order is fixed starting from round one, with boards 1-3 for the boys and boards 4-5 for the girls.

Chess.com will monitor each game for fair play, and players will need to have an open camera while playing.

Schedule

  1. April 18, 7 a.m. Pacific (10 a.m. Eastern, 16:00 CEST, 22:00 Beijing): 
    China-FIDE, Russia-USA, France-Netherlands
  2. April 18, 8 a.m. Pacific (11 a.m. Eastern, 17:00 CEST, 23:00 Beijing):
    FIDE-Netherlands, USA-France, China-Russia
  3. April 18, 9 a.m. Pacific (12 p.m. Eastern, 18:00 CEST, April 19, 0:00 Beijing): 
    Russia-FIDE, France-China, Netherlands-USA
  4. April 19, 7 a.m. Pacific (10 a.m. Eastern, 16:00 CEST, 22:00 Beijing):
    FIDE-USA, China-Netherlands, Russia-France
  5. April 19, 8 a.m. Pacific (11 a.m. Eastern, 17:00 CEST, 23:00 Beijing):
    France-FIDE, Netherlands-Russia, USA-China

More from PeterDoggers
Lindores Abbey Final: Nakamura Wins 1st Match Vs. Dubov

Lindores Abbey Final: Nakamura Wins 1st Match Vs. Dubov

Alexey Sarana Wins European Online Chess Championship

Alexey Sarana Wins European Online Chess Championship