London Chess Classic 2010 Lineup Announced

London Chess Classic 2010 Lineup Announced

| 29 | Chess Event Coverage

The line-up for the second London Chess Classic in December has been announced, and it's an even stronger field than last year's very successful inaugural event.

Last year's winner Magnus Carlsen (pictured) will be defending his title, with Vladimir Kramnik and Hikaru Nakamura also returning to challenge him.

In fact the only change to the field from last year is the replacing of Chinese player Hua Ni with someone most fans might be more familiar champion Vishy Anand!

The home-grown talent on display is once again Nigel Short, Mickey Adams, Luke McShane and David Howell.  Congratulations to the organisers for attracting such a great line-up yet again!

 Name Nat Rank Elo
 Carlsen, Magnus  NOR 1 2813
 Kramnik, Vladimir RUS 3 2790
 Anand, Viswanathan IND 4 2789
 Nakamura, Hikaru USA 19 2733
 Adams, Michael ENG 41 2697
 Short, Nigel ENG 48 2685
 McShane, Luke ENG 138 2623
 Howell, David ENG 144 2620

The prize fund has also increased from €120,000 to €145,000 with the winner receiving €50,000.  The tournament takes place from 8-15 December at London's Olympia Conference Centre and tickets go on sale in July.

The excellent official website with lots more information can be found here.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix