Max Euwe Tournament in Amsterdam, 13-20 November

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage

On 26 November, it will be thirty years since former Dutch World Champion Dr. Max Euwe passed away. To honour his memory, the first Max Euwe Tournament will be held November 13-20 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Two groups of four will play a double round robin tournament in the "Openbare Bibliotheek" (public library), very close to Amsterdam's Central Station.

The organisation has brought together an international field of male and female players both young and old: Fridrik Olafsson (Iceland), Paul van der Sterren (NL), Zhaoqin Peng (NL), Pia Cramling (Sweden), Stuart Conquest (England), Monica Socko (Poland), Keti Arakhamia (Scotland) and Robin van Kampen (NL).

Grandmaster Jan Timman will open the event on Sunday, 13 November at 14.00 by giving a simul. Additionally, there will be lectures in the evening throughout the week about Max Euwe, computer chess and artificial intelligence, which will be held by renowned experts GM Hans Ree and Dr. Jos Uiterwijk. On Wednesday afternoon, there will be a fun children’s chess session with two-time American women’s chess champion Jennifer Shahade and a viewing of “Long Live the Queen”, a chess film directed by Euwe’s granddaughter Esmé Lammers.

The Max Euwe Chess Tournament looks back on a wealth of chess history but keeps a firm view towards the future too, as is reflected in the participants. The round robins and side events will connect us with important men and women from the chess world and with these great talents we shall celebrate the life of chess promoter Euwe.

The games of the first round will start on Monday, 14 November at 13.00. You can follow the games live on the tournament website On the website you can find a lot of information about Max Euwe and the participants in the Max Euwe Tournament.

More from PeterDoggers
Undefeated Aronian Grabs Early Lead As Levitov Chess Week Returns To Amsterdam

Undefeated Aronian Grabs Early Lead As Levitov Chess Week Returns To Amsterdam

Aleksandar Matanovic (1930-2023)

Aleksandar Matanovic (1930-2023)