Nalchik Women's Grand Prix

Nalchik Women's Grand Prix

| 5 | Chess Event Coverage

nalchik womens Grand Prix 2011.jpg

The 3rd Grand Prix of the 2011/12 Women's Grand Prix Series starts in Nalchik, Russia on 8 October. The Grand Prix is a series of six tournaments to determine the challenger for the 2013 Women's World Championship. The regulations for the 2011/12 Grand Prix can be found here.

The winner of each of the six Grand Prix tournaments in the series will win 6,500 euros out of a prize fund of 40,000 euros, and the overall winner will win a further 15,000 euros.

Current women's world champion Hou Yifan won the first two Grand Prix events, in Rostov and Shenzhen, but will not be taking part in Nalchik.

The Nalchik line-up:

Nadezhda Kosintseva   RUS 2560
Katerina Lahno  UKR 2554
Tatiana Kosintseva    RUS 2536
Ju Wenjun  CHN 2536
Antoaneta Stefanova  BUL 2528
Viktorija Cmilyte  LTU 2525
Alisa Galliamova  RUS 2498
Zhao Xue  CHN 2497
Zhu Chen  QTR 2490
Alexandra Kosteniuk  RUS 2469
Munguntuul Batkhuyag  MGL 2465
Ekaterina Kovalevskaya  RUS 2421


Sisters Tatiana (left) and Nadezhda (right) Kosintseva will both play in Nalchik

Tatiana(left) and Nadezhda Kosintseva.jpg


The tournament schedule:

08-Oct Opening Ceremony
09-Oct Round 1
10-Oct Round 2
11-Oct Round 3
12-Oct Round 4
13-Oct Free Day
14-Oct Round 5
15-Oct Round 6
16-Oct Round 7
17-Oct Round 8
18-Oct Free Day
19-Oct Round 9
20-Oct Round 10
21-Oct Closing Ceremony
22-Oct Departure


More information and coverage is available at the official website.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix