Netherlands Chess Championship 2011

Netherlands Chess Championship 2011

| 10 | Chess Event Coverage

Netherlands Champs 2011.jpgThe 2011 Netherlands Chess Championships runs from 26 June -5 July in Boxtel.

Last year's champion Jan Smeets is defending his title in a ten-player single round robin event.  There is also a separate six-player double round-robin women's contest where Zhaoqin Peng is defending champion.

Games start at 13:30 local time (11:30 UTC) except the last round which is at 11:00 (09:00 UTC).  The men get a rest day on 1 July.

The men's line-up:

 Anish Giri 2687
 Jan Smeets 2647
 Ivan Sokolov 2645
 Erwin l'Ami 2611
 Sipke Ernst 2596
 Wouter Spoelman 2564
 Friso Nijboer 2538
 Daan Brandenburg 2535
 Ruud Janssen 2512
 Robin Swinkels 2483


The first round has been completed and the games are below:





Defending champion Jan Smeets

Jan Smeets.jpg



The women's line-up:

 Zhaoqin Peng 2375
 Arlette van Weersel 2246
 Anne Haast 2221
 Martine Middelveld 2120
 Lisa Hortensius 2111
 Annemarie Volkers 2046


Zhaoqin Peng has won the women's championship 12 times since moving from China in 1996, and 11 times in unbroken succession since the year 2000!  The games from round one are below:

Defending champion Zhaoqin Peng

Zhaoqin Peng.jpg





Coverage is available at the official site, and also via Facebook and Twitter.  The live games broadcast is here.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix