Nordic Internet Club Cup Takes Off Today

Nordic Internet Club Cup Takes Off Today

PeterDoggers
PeterDoggers
|
11 | Chess Event Coverage

The Nordic Internet Club Cup, an online competition for Nordic chess clubs organized by the Icelandic Chess Federation, starts today on Chess.com. Russian talent GM Andrey Esipenko and Africa's number-one GM Bassem Amin are among the top players.

Although online play is not exactly the same, chess players are definitely lucky to have it as an alternative to over-the-board events these days. The Nordic Internet Club Cup is one of the great examples of alternative competitions that are being organized online with the coronavirus crisis forcing people to stay home. 

No fewer than 67 club teams from Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden have signed up for the tournament. That's a total of 610 players, including 27 grandmasters.

"The success of the tournament came as a surprise," said Icelandic Chess Federation President Gunnar Bjornsson. "We did not expect so many clubs. To see over 600 players, 27 grandmasters and 135 title holders in total is far above our expectations! This says that there are opportunities to continue with good events on the internet. For sure we will think about continuing this event and even start a new one!"

A team can consist of 6-12 players from different countries. However, in every round at least 50 percent of the players on a team need to be from the Nordic countries. B teams are also allowed, but every player can play on just one team.

The schedule is seven double rounds with a time control of 10 minutes and a three-second increment. Participation is free, and prizes include trophies and medals.

To give you an idea of who will be playing, below are the top six teams. The ratings used are the April FIDE rapid ratings.

Bo. Fed Title 1. SSON A Rtg Bo. Fed Title 4. Wasa SK Rtg
1 GM Esipenko Andrey 2629 1 GM Amin Bassem 2608
2 GM Demchenko Anton 2631 2 GM Hellers Ferdinand 2565
3 GM Antipov Mikhail Al. 2663 3 IM Suarez Garcia Carlos 2467
4 IM Lomasov Semyon 2576 4 FM Moreau Teodor 2340
5 GM Thorfinnsson Bragi 2414 5 WGM Reizniece-Ozola Dana 2204
6 IM Gunnarsson Arnar 2395 6 IM Cramling Dan 2403
7 IM Arngrimsson Dagur 2383 7 FM Grandell Anders 2292
8 FM Galaktionov Artem 2305 8 IM Sagit Rauan 2406
9 FM Lagerman Robert 2295 9 WGM Rogule Laura 2289
10 FM Lavendelis Egons 2273
11 Wernberg Hugo 1866
12 Gundersen Ingvar 1704
Bo. Fed Title 2. Huginn Rtg Bo. Fed Title 5. Reykjavík Chess Club Rtg
1 GM Gretarsson Hjorvar Steinn 2554 1 IM Kjartansson Gudmundur 2451
2 GM Stefansson Hannes 2517 2 GM Gretarsson Helgi Ass 2396
3 GM Olafsson Helgi 2517 3 GM Petursson Margeir 2336
4 GM Thorhallsson Throstur 2510 4 IM Thorsteins Karl 2401
5 FM Ulfarsson Magnus Orn 2297 5 FM Johannesson Ingvar Thor 2363
6 IM Jensson Einar Hjalti 2410 6 FM Heimisson Hilmir Freyr 1771
7 FM Sigfusson Sigurdur 2230 7 Omarsson Dadi 2239
8 Edvardsson Kristjan 2216 8 FM Jonasson Benedikt 2165
9 CM Birkisson Bardur Orn 1993
10 Olafsson Thorvardur 2213
11 Jonsson Gauti Pall 2019
12 Arnason Arni A. 2118
Bo. Fed Title 3. Víkingaklúbburinn A Rtg Bo. Fed Title 6. OSS 1 Rtg
1 GM Gajewski Grzegorz 2515 1 GM Agdestein Simen 2522
2 GM Dziuba Marcin 2486 2 IM Hauge Lars Oskar 2409
3 GM Hjartarson Johann 2512 3 GM Johannessen Leif Erlend 2491
4 IM Gunnarsson Jon Viktor 2414 4 IM Galinsky Timofey 2251
5 IM Thorfinnsson Bjorn 2445 5 IM Moen Andreas G.R. 2273
6 IM Kjartansson David 2346 6 FM Altarbosh Ward 2138
7 GM Arnason Jon L 2421 7 FM Ingebretsen Jens E 2047
8 Runarsson Gunnar 2043 8 FM Andersen Lars Even 2215

The schedule is as follows:

• Round 1   Thursday, April 9 at 13:00 CEST (7 a.m. Eastern, 4 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 2   Friday, April 10 at 13:00 CEST (7 a.m. Eastern, 4 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 3   Friday, April 10 at 16:00 CEST (10:00 a.m. Eastern, 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 4   Saturday, April 11 13:00 CEST (7 a.m. Eastern, 4 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 5   Saturday, April 11 at 16:00 CEST (10:00 a.m. Eastern, 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 6   Sunday, April 12 at 13:00 CEST (7 a.m. Eastern, 4 a.m. Pacific)
• Round 7   Monday, April 13 at 13:00 CEST (7 a.m. Eastern, 4 a.m. Pacific)

The games can be followed in Live Chess, and the results will be reported in Chess-Results.

For more upcoming events on Chess.com, such as the Man vs. Machine match Smerdon vs. Komodo or the Team India COVID-19 simul, see our events calendar.

More from PeterDoggers
Ding, Dubov Qualify For Lindores Abbey Semifinals

Ding, Dubov Qualify For Lindores Abbey Semifinals

Lindores Abbey: Carlsen Through To Semis As Karjakin Miraculously Survives

Lindores Abbey: Carlsen Through To Semis As Karjakin Miraculously Survives