Pearl Spring Tournament Opens

Pearl Spring Tournament Opens

SonofPearl
SonofPearl
Dec 11, 2008, 12:46 PM |
8 | Chess Event Coverage

The latest welcome addition to the calendar of global chess super-tournaments, Pearl Spring, kicked off today in Nanjing, China.

The six player, double round-robin event has an impressive line-up of players...

 Veselin Topalov  2791
 Vassily Ivanchuk  2786
 Levon Aronian
 2757
 Sergei Movsesian
 2732
 Peter Svidler
 2727
 Bu Xiangzhi
 2714


...making an average ELO rating of an amazing 2752!  Chess is growing fast in China, and this excellent tournament will hopefully become a regular annual fixture.

The prize fund totals 250,000 Euros, with 80k to the winner, 55k for second, 40k third, 30k fourth, 25k fifth, and 20k for sixth.  The time control is a fairly speedy 40 moves in 90 minutes, then 30 moves plus a 30 second increment to finish the game.

The first round saw the local boy, Bu Xiangzhi (pictured above), take the lead by beating Sergei Movsesian.  The other games finished drawn:

 Lev Aronian  Veselin Topalov ½-½   39 
 Slav Defence
 Vassily Ivanchuk  Peter Svidler ½-½  37 
 Ruy Lopez Chigorin
 Movsesian, Sergei   Bu Xiangzhi 0-1  58 
 Bishop's Opening


Sadly, the official website, like far too many chess event websites, leaves a lot to be desired, but you can check it out here.  The link for live games seems to be here . Games start at 3pm local time (8 a.m. CET/ 2 a.m. EST/ 7 a.m. GMT)

Here are the games and some pictures from round 1.  Pictures from http://blog.sina.com.cn/chessnews.

 

 

 

More from SonofPearl
Chess.com News Is Changing...

Chess.com News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix