PRO Chess League Preview Week 10: All-Decisive Battles Royale

PRO Chess League Preview Week 10: All-Decisive Battles Royale

PROChessLeague
PROChessLeague
Mar 12, 2019, 1:44 AM |
14 | Chess Event Coverage

The 10th regular week of the PRO Chess League is also the third and final week of Battles Royale. The Atlantic and Pacific Divisions play on Tuesday beginning at 1:30 p.m. PDT (4:30 p.m. EDT, 8:30 p.m. GMT) and the Eastern and Central Divisions will play on Thursday beginning at 7 a.m. PDT (10 a.m. EDT, 2 p.m. GMT).

Preview by IM Greg Shahade.

The teams that qualify for the PRO Chess League Playoffs will be decided by an all-play-all Battle Royale. Let's look at the biggest matchups of the week.

Just learning about the PRO Chess League? Visit the site and check out the official information article.

ATLANTIC DIVISION STANDINGS

Atlantic Division PRO Chess League 2019 Standings


The Montreal Chessbrahs hold a small lead on the Montclair Sopranos going into the final week, but a strong performance from the Sopranos could see them overtake the Chessbrahs and make it into the postseason.

Gadir Guseinov PRO Chess League 2019

The Webster Windmills are not that far ahead of both teams, and could be on the outside looking in if they struggle. Ivan Saric and Eric Hansen lead the Chessbrahs, Ray Robson heads the Windmills lineup, and Gadir Guseinov is atop the Sopranos.

PACIFIC DIVISION STANDINGS

Pacific Division PRO Chess League 2019 Standings

The Australia Kangaroos have a 10-point lead over the San Jose Hackers, but the Hackers have been much stronger than the Kangaroos in the Battles Royale. If this trend continues you could see the Hackers and GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov catch up in the final week.

Mamedyarov PRO Chess League 2019

EASTERN DIVISION STANDINGS

Eastern Division PRO Chess League 2019 Standings

The Volga Stormbringers are the only team with a realistic chance to sneak into the playoffs, as they are 12 points behind the Mumbai Movers. They will definitely need a big performance in the final event.

Meanwhile the Tbilisi Gentlemen and Armenia Eagles fight to finish first place in the division, and earn draw odds for the first two playoff rounds.

CENTRAL DIVISION STANDINGS

Central Division PRO Chess League 2019 Standings

It was a tough start in 2019 for Maxime Vachier Lagrave and the Marseille Migraines, but they have been on the comeback trail and require just one final strong performance to move into the top four.

Standing in their way is their French rival, the Cannes Blitzstreams, who hold just a three-point lead. It looks like there is just room in the playoffs for one of these two teams, but which one will it be?

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave PRO Chess League 2019

Watch all the PRO Chess League action on Twitch.tv/chess, Twitch.tv/prochessleague, and Chess.com/tv on Tuesday and Thursday.

The Atlantic and Pacific Divisions play on Tuesday beginning at 1:30 p.m. PDT (4:30 p.m. EDT, 8:30 p.m. GMT) and the Eastern and Central Divisions will play on Thursday beginning at 7 a.m. PDT (10 a.m. EDT, 2 p.m. GMT).


More from PROChessLeague
LIVE NOW: PRO Chess League Playoffs Take Off For Atlantic, Pacific Divisions

LIVE NOW: PRO Chess League Playoffs Take Off For Atlantic, Pacific Divisions

PRO Chess League Fantasy Challenge Meets Playoffs!

PRO Chess League Fantasy Challenge Meets Playoffs!