Tal Memorial 2011

Tal Memorial 2011

SonofPearl
SonofPearl
Nov 15, 2011, 12:43 PM |
34 | Chess Event Coverage

The 2011 Tal Memorial will run from 16-25 November in Moscow, and will feature 10 of the very best players in the world in a single round-robin competition.

There will be one rest day on 21 November, and games start at 15:00 local time (11:00 UTC), except the last round which is 2 hours earlier.

The tournament is arguably the strongest tournament of 2011 so far, and Chess.com/TV will be providing live coverage of many of the rounds. First round coverage from IM Danny Rensch is open to ALL Chess.com members! Tune in on 16 November at 04:00 Pacific/07:00 Eastern/12:00 GMT.

The full line-up with rankings on the official November 2011 list:

Name Nat Rank Elo
Magnus Carlsen NOR 1
2826
Viswanathan Anand IND 2 2811
Levon Aronian ARM 3 2802
Vladimir Kramnik RUS 4 2800
Vassily Ivanchuk UKR 6 2775
Sergey Karjakin
RUS 8 2763
Hikaru Nakamura USA 10 2758
Peter Svidler RUS 12 2755
Boris Gelfand
ISR 14 2744
Ian Nepomniachtchi RUS 20 2730

 

The time control is 40 moves in 100 minutes, followed by 20 moves in 50 minutes, then 15 minutes to finish, with a 30 second increment from the start of the game.

The total prize fund is €100,000 with the winner receiving €30,000.

The draw for the first round:

 Lev Aronian   v   Magnus Carlsen
 Vladimir Kramnik  v  Ian Nepomniachtchi
 Vassily Ivanchuk  v  Peter Svidler
 Viswanathan Anand  v  Sergey Karjakin
 Hikaru Nakamura  v  Boris Gelfand

 

The official site (in Russian) also promises live webcam coverage of the playing hall.

More from SonofPearl
Chess.com News Is Changing...

Chess.com News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix