Tal Memorial 2012 Line-up Announced

Tal Memorial 2012 Line-up Announced

| 40 | Chess Event Coverage

The line-up for the 2012 Tal Memorial has been confirmed, with 10 players taking part in the event in Moscow from 7-19 June.

The final entry spots went to Alexander Grischuk, Alexander Morozevich, Evgeny Tomashevsky and the winner of the controversial fan vote Luke McShane.

Luke McShane's participation is dependent on his arranging leave from his full-time job in the City of London!

The full line-up:

 Name Nat Rank Elo
 Magnus Carlsen NOR 1 2835
 Levon Aronian ARM 2 2820
 Vladimir Kramnik RUS 3 2801
 Teimour Radjabov AZE 5 2784
 Hikaru Nakamura USA 6 2771
 Fabiano Caruana ITA 7 2767
 Alexander Morozevich RUS 9 2765
 Alexander Grischuk RUS 11 2761
 Evgeny Tomashevsky RUS 17 2736
 Luke McShane ENG 58 2691


Last year Magnus Carlsen won the tournament, narrowly beating Lev Aronian on superior tie-breaks after both finished with a score of 5½/9.  The only other returning players from 2011 are Vladimir Kramnik and Hikaru Nakamura , both of whom had a disappointing result that they will want to improve upon this year.

A happy Carlsen after winning in 2011

Magnus Carlsen 20.jpg

Who is your favourite to win the 2012 tournament in honour of the great Mikhail Tal?

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix