Tata Steel 2011 Live Coverage

Tata Steel 2011 Live Coverage

| 22 | Chess Event Coverage

As recently previewed, the re-named Tata Steel tournament (formerly Corus) will run from 14-30 January in Wijk Aan Zee in the Netherlands.

The name may have changed, but the format remains the same with three separate A, B and C 14-player round-robin GM tournaments being the highlight of this wonderful chess festival.

Games start at 13:30 local time (12:30 GMT and 07:30 EST) except the final round which starts at 12:00 local time (11:00 GMT and 06:00 EST), and is pleased to announce live coverage of the event at!

The first round will be covered by IM David Pruess. Look out for details of commentators for future games!

Rest days are on 19, 24 and 27 January, and the time control is 40 moves in 100 minutes, followed by 20 moves in 50 minutes, and then 15 minutes more to finish with a 30 second increment from the start of the game.

The official website can be found at

Who will you be cheering for? Last year's Group A winner was Magnus Carlsen and he will be hoping to defend his title against the likes of Kramnik, Anand and Aronian.

The line-ups in full:

 A Group

 Name Nat Rating
 Magnus Carlsen NOR 2814
 Viswanathan Anand IND 2810
 Levon Aronian ARM 2805
 Vladimir Kramnik RUS 2784
 Alexander Grischuk RUS 2773
 Hikaru Nakamura USA 2751
 Ruslan Ponomariov UKR 2744
 Ian Nepomniachtchi RUS 2733
 Wang Hao CHN 2731
 Alexei Shirov ESP 2722
 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave FRA 2715
 Anish Giri NED 2686
 Jan Smeets NED 2662
 Erwin l'Ami NED 2628

 B Group

 Name Nat Rating
 Radek Wojtaszek POL 2726
 David Navara CZE 2708
 Laurent Fressinet FRA 2707
 Zahar Efimenko UKR 2701
 Wesley So PHI 2673
 Gabriel Sargissian ARM 2667
 Le Quang Liem VIE 2664
 Luke McShane ENG 2664
 Surya Ganguly IND 2651
 Li Chao CHN 2649
 Jon Ludvig Hammer NOR 2647
 Vlad Tkachiev FRA 2636
 Friso Nijboer NED 2584
 Wouter Spoelman NED 2547

 C Group

 Name Nat Rating
 Murtas Kazhgaleyev KAZ 2637
 Ivan Ivanisevic SRB 2630
 Mark Bluvshtein CAN 2590
 Daniele Vocaturo ITA 2570
 Dariusz Swiercz POL 2540
 Ilya Nyzhnyk UKR 2530
 Katherina Lahno UKR 2518
 Roland Pruijssers NED 2484
 Benjamin Bok NED 2453
 Robin van Kampen NED 2443
 Mark van der Werf NED 2439
 Sebastian Siebrecht GER 2439
 Jan Willem de Jong NED 2437
 Tania Sachdev IND 2391
More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix