Tata Steel 2012 participants announced

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage

Magnus Carlsen, Levon Aronian, Sergey Karjakin and Veselin Topalov are the four highest rated players in the upcoming Tata Steel Chess Tournament. The 74th edition will be held January 13-29, 2012 in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands. Despite the absence of World Champion Vishy Anand and former World Champion Vladimir Kramnik the Tata tournament will be the strongest in its long and rich history.

[This report is largely based on the press release in Dutch which we received earlier today.]

The Grandmaster Group A of the 74th Tata Steel Chess Tournament will have 10 of the top 15 chess players in the world. With an average rating of 2752 the Tata Steel Chess Tournament exceeds the anniversary edition in 2008, when the average rating was 2740. It is also the first time in history that a tournament with 14 participants will have such a strong field.

One player will make his debut in the A group: Vugar Gashimov from Azerbaijan, the current number 10 in the world. Other interesting names are those of Veselin Topalov (who didn't play much after he lost his World Championship Match against Vishy Anand) and Boris Gelfand (the challenger of Anand in the next world title match). The last Tata Steel Chess winner, Hikaru Nakamura from the USA, will be back in Wijk aan Zee as well. The Dutch contribution to the A-group of the tournament consists of 17-year-old Anish Giri and, back from his sabbatical, Loek van Wely.

In the Grandmaster Groups B and C a total of eight women participate. One of them is reigning European Women Champion Viktorija Cmilyte of Lithuania. who will play in the B group. The other two female participants in this group are Kateryna Lahno (Ukraine, fifth in the world) and the young Dronavalli Harika (20) from India. Reigning European Champion Vladimir Potkin (Russia) makes his debut in Wijk aan Zee in this group. The organizing committee is pleased that former winner Jan Timman accepted an invitation to play in the B group.

In Grandmaster Group C the young Dutch players Lisa Schut (17) and Anne Haast (18) make their debut. Three other women in this group are Armenian grandmaster Elina Danielian (who lives in Groningen), Elisabeth Paehtz (Germany) and Tania Sachdev (India). Two-time national junior champion Lars Ootes (20) and Daan Brandenburg, who earlier this year gained the grandmaster title, play in 'C' for the first time.

One notable name in the C group is that of Netherlands-based former top player Matthew Sadler. The Englishman, in fact not a professional chess player, never played in Wijk aan Zee before. Recently he scored two impressive tournament victories in Barcelona and Oslo, which brings him back in the world's top 100 in the next rating list.

The 74th Tata Steel Chess Tournament will take place from 13 to 29 January 2012 in, as always, sports complex De Moriaan in Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands. Admission is free. Participants in the amateur groups can register from Monday, October 31, 2011 via the official website.

Participants Grandmaster Group A

GMMagnus CarlsenNOR128231990
GMLevon AronianARM328071982
GMSergey KarjakinRUS527721990
GMVeselin TopalovBUL627681975
GMVassily IvanchukUKR727651969
GMVugar GashimovAZE1027561986
GMGata KamskyUSA1127561974
GMHikaru NakamuraUSA1227531987
GMTeimour RadjabovAZE1327521987
GMBoris GelfandISR1527461968
GMAnish GiriNED2327221994
GMFabiano CaruanaITA3227121992
GMDavid NavaraCZE4227051985
GMLoek van WelyNED5526891972

Participants Grandmaster Group B

GMAlexander MotylevRUS5426901979
GMLazaro BruzonCUB6226821982
GMPentala HarikrishnaIND7026721986
GMVladimir PotkinRUS7226711982
GMSergey TiviakovNED10226471973
GMDimitri ReindermanNED24025941972
GMErwin l'AmiNED24525921985
GMSipke ErnstNED28725811979
GMIlya NyzhnykUKR38325611996
GMJan TimmanNED41525551951
GMKateryna LahnoUKR42225541989
GMDaniele VocaturoITA52125371989
GMViktorija CmilyteLTU59725251983
GMHarika DronavalliIND76425051991

Participants Grandmaster Group C

GMMaxim TurovRUS10726431979
GMMatthew SadlerENG15326251974
GMHans TikkanenSWE25125911985
GMDaan BrandenburgNED62425221987
GMElina DanielianARM66625171978
IMSahaj GroverIND68925141995
WGMElisabeth PaethzGER120624611985
WGMTania SachdevIND179224191986
-Pieter HopmanNED342123511972
-Lars OotesNED369923401991
WIMLisa SchutNED554722901994
WIMAnne HaastNED679522641993
FMEtienne GoudriaanNED760722501990
?Winner Cultural Village????


More from PeterDoggers
Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi, Svidler Lead As Levitov Chess Week Becomes Two-horse Race

Nepomniachtchi, Svidler Lead As Levitov Chess Week Becomes Two-horse Race