Tata Steel Chess 2011

Tata Steel Chess 2011

| 43 | Chess Event Coverage

It's January again, so all roads for the top GMs lead to a small seaside resort in the Netherlands for the traditional start to the new year in top flight chess.

The Tata Steel Tournament (formerly Corus) runs from 14-30 January in Wijk Aan Zee and as usual is divided into three groups of 14 players each.

The A Group is headed by the top four players in the world on the most recent rating list i.e. Magnus Carlsen, Vishy Anand, Lev Aronian and Vladimir Kramnik.

Hikaru Nakamura will be hoping to make a splash in Wijk, and the new "escapees" from the junior rankings, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave and Ian Nepomniachtchi will also want to make a good impression.

Look out for coverage at!

 A Group

 Name FED Elo (Sep 2010)
 Magnus Carlsen NOR 2826
 Viswanathan Anand IND 2800
 Levon Aronian ARM 2783
 Vladimir Kramnik RUS 2780
 Alexander Grischuk RUS 2760
 Ruslan Ponomariov  UKR 2749
 Alexey Shirov ESP 2749
 Hikaru Nakamura USA 2733
 Wang Hao CHN 2724
 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave FRA 2721
 Ian Nepomniachtchi RUS 2706
 Anish Giri NED 2677
 Jan Smeets NED 2669
 Erwin l'Ami NED 2624
 B Group

 Name FED Elo (Sep 2010)
 David Navara CZE 2722
 Laurent Fressinet FRA 2718
 Radek Wojtaszek POL 2711
 Le Quang Liem VIE 2694
 Zahar Efimenko UKR 2683
 Gabriel Sargissian ARM 2677
 Wesley So PHI 2668
 Luke McShane ENG 2657
 Surya Ganguly IND 2650
 Li Chao CHN 2633
 Jon Ludvig Hammer NOR 2633
 Vlad Tkachiev FRA 2632
 Friso Nijboer NED 2582
 Wouter Spoelman NED 2538
 C Group

 Name FED Elo (Sep 2010)
 Murtas Kazhgaleyev KAZ 2620
 Ivan Ivanisevic SRB 2613
 Mark Bluvshtein CAN 2583
 Daniele Vocaturo ITA 2581
 Katherina Lahno UKR 2539
 Ilya Nyzhnyk UKR 2538
 Dariusz Swiercz POL 2522
 Roland Pruijssers NLD 2487
 Benjamin Bok NED 2453
 Jan Willem de Jong NED 2444
 Mark van der Werf NED 2432
 Robin van Kampen NED 2430
 Sebastian Siebrecht GER 2421
 Tania Sachdev IND 2382
More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix