Ten players to compete in Dortmund's 40th tournament

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage

In times of crisis, when tournaments are getting smaller or even disappearing from the chess calendar, it's great news that this year's 40th anniversary edition of the Sparkassen Chess Meeting in Dortmund will have ten participants. They are Vladimir Kramnik, Fabiano Caruana, Sergey Karjakin, Ruslan Ponomariov, Peter Leko, Arkadij Naiditsch, Mateusz Bartel, Daniel Fridman, Georg Meier and Jan Gustafsson.

This year's tournament in Dortmund will take place between the 13th and 22nd of July. The 40th jubilee edition is a 10-player round robin. In recent years the tournament was a 6-player, double round robin but thanks to a cooperation with the German Chess Federation the full squad (and gold medal winners) of the 2011 European Team Championship could be added.

Dortmund 2012 | Participants

1Vladimir KramnikRUS2801
2Fabiano CaruanaITA2767
3Sergey KarjakinRUS2766
4Ruslan PonomariovUKR2727
5Peter LekoHUN2720
6Arkadij NaiditschGER2702
7Mateusz BartelPOL2665
8Daniel FridmanGER2653
9Georg MeierGER2647
10Jan GustafssonGER2642

The International Dortmund Chess Days – since 1994 "Sparkassen Chess-Meeting" – celebrated its "birth event" in 1973, which was won Heikki Westerinen of Finland. Over the years the tournament grew into a world class event where almost all of the best players competed, including Garry Kasparov, Anatoly Karpov, Viswanathan Anand, Judit Polgar and of course tenfold winner Vladimir Kramnik.

Parallel to the main event is the traditional Dortmund Sparkassen Open, with an A and a B-group, in the City Hall. Last year the main tournament was won for the 10th (!) time by Vladimir Kramnik, who will surely try to add another title to his list.

Schedule and pairings

Traditionally, for Dortmund the drawing of lots takes place months in advance. At a press conference on April 26th, this led to the following schedule:

Round 1   Round 2  
Fridman-Gustafsson Gustafsson-Kramnik
Leko-Ponomariov Bartel-Karjakin
Caruana-Naiditsch Naiditsch-Meier
Meier-Bartel Ponomariov-Caruana
Karjakin-Kramnik Fridman-Leko
Round 3   Round 4  
Leko-Gustafsson Gustafsson-Bartel
Caruana-Fridman Naiditsch-Kramnik
Meier-Ponomariov Ponomariov-Karjakin
Karjakin-Naiditsch Fridman-Meier
Kramnik-Bartel Leko-Caruana
Round 5   Round 6  
Caruana-Gustafsson Gustafsson-Naiditsch
Meier-Leko Ponomariov-Bartel
Karjakin-Fridman Fridman-Kramnik
Kramnik-Ponomariov Leko-Karjakin
Bartel Naiditsch Caruana-Meier
Round 7   Round 8  
Meier-Gustafsson Gustafsson-Ponomariov
Karjakin-Caruana Fridman-Naiditsch
Kramnik-Leko Leko-Bartel
Bartel-Fridman Caruana-Kramnik
Naiditsch-Ponomariov Meier-Karjakin
Round 9      


More from PeterDoggers
Aleksandar Matanovic (1930-2023)

Aleksandar Matanovic (1930-2023)

Row Over Freak Storm Mars Dutch Women's Championship; Roebers (17) Wins 1st Title

Row Over Freak Storm Mars Dutch Women's Championship; Roebers (17) Wins 1st Title