Top seed Tiviakov wins first Panama Chess Open

| 0 | Chess Event Coverage

The Panama Chess Open took place 3-7 November, 2011 (double rounds on 4-6 November). It was the first international chess event in this Central American country since the 1970s. Top seed Sergei Tiviakov from The Netherlands joined a field of 132 players, mostly from Latin America including a sizeable Cuban delegation. He conceded three draws against Cuban GMs Perez Rodriguez, Arencibia and Ortiz Suarez, and finished in sole first place by grinding down second seed Alejandro Ramirez in the final round. Ramirez, originally from Costa Rica, is now studying in the USA and plays under the American flag since January 2011. Traditionally, Tiviakov sent lots of photos to Chessbase.

[Event "1st Panama Open"]
[Site "Panama"]
[Date "2011.11.07"]
[Round "9"]
[White "Tiviakov, Sergei"]
[Black "Ramirez, Alejandro"]
[Result "1-0"]

1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nd2 Be7 4. c3 c5 5. dxc5 Nf6 6. exd5 Nxd5 7. Nb3 O-O 8. Bc4 Qc7 9. Nf3 Rd8 10. Qe2 a5 11. a4 Na6 12. O-O Nxc5 13. Rd1 b6 14. Nxc5 bxc5 15. Ne5 Bb7 16. Re1 Bd6 17. Bb5 h6 18. h3 Nf6 19. Ng4 Ne4 20. Bd3 f5 21. Bxe4 Bxe4 22. f3 Bd5 23. Ne3 Bb7 24. Nc4 Bg3 25. Rf1 e5 26. Ne3 Qf7 27. c4 e4 28. fxe4 Bxe4 29. Ra3 Qg6 30. Nd5 Re8 31. Nf4 Bxf4 32. Bxf4 Bc6 33. Qf2 Re4 34. Rg3 Qe6 35. Qxc5 Rxc4 36. Qe5 Qxe5 37. Bxe5 Ra7 38. b3 Rb4 39. Rxf5 Rab7 40. Rf6 Be4 41. Rf4 g5 42. Bc3 Kh7 43. Rfg4 Bf5 44. Bxb4 Bxg4 45. Rxg4 axb4 46. Re4 Kg6 47. g4 h5 48. Kg2 hxg4 49. hxg4 Kf6 50. Kf3 Rb8 51. Ke3 Rb7 1-0

Panama Open 2011 | Final standings

Rk.TitleNameFedRtgPts.Des 1Des 2Des 3TPRElo+/-
1GMTiviakov SergeiNED26507.538.052.541.027048.4
2GMArencibia Rodriguez WalterCUB25117.
3GMAlvarez Pedraza AramisCUB25657.
4GMPerez Rodriguez Luis ManuelCUB24757.035.050.538.5261618.7
5IMShoker SamyEGY25127.033.545.035.02427-2.6
6GMOrtiz Suarez Isan ReynaldoCUB25536.538.054.042.525847.3
7GMAbreu Delgado AryamCUB24816.535.050.039.524915.4
8IMGomez Garrido CamiloCUB25376.534.550.039.025361.1
9GMCorrales Jimenez FidelCUB25786.533.548.538.02513-3.6
10WGMLinares Napoles OleinyCUB23356.533.050.039.5242639.6
11FMEspinosa Veloz ErmesCUB24526.532.045.035.023462.3
12IMLammers MarkusGER23926.529.042.033.02265-7.7
13GMRamirez AlejandroUSA25956.
14GMBarrientos Sergio ECOL25176.033.551.040.02475-2.2
15WGMOrdaz Valdes Lisandra TeresaCUB23586.033.550.540.5243019.6
16IMPrasca Sosa RafaelVEN24316.032.550.039.024556.1
17IMGongora Reyes MaikelCUB24286.031.047.537.52396-0.7
18 Martinez Romero MartinCOL23436.
19IMVitoux ColombanFRA24156.029.545.034.52285-10.9
20 Fernandez Rodriguez Angel LuisCUB21176.029.046.537.5221975.0
21WGMPina Vega SulennisCUB23156.
22CMValdes RancesPAN21256.026.538.031.0202117.7
23FMHevia Alejano Carlos AntonioCUB25205.534.555.543.525011.3
24IMPozo Vera SandroCUB24955.534.552.541.52457-0.4
25GMAlmeida Quintana OmarCUB25385.533.552.040.52437-8.8
26FMSanchez Alvarez Roberto CarlosCUB23945.532.549.540.023987.5
27FMRuiz Sanchez OrlenCUB24115.531.549.037.523983.0
28IMPerez Garcia RodneyCUB24245.531.547.037.02356-4.5
29GMZapata AlonsoCOL24835.531.051.039.02376-9.1
30IMOstos JulioVEN23425.531.049.039.5231110.8


More from inselschaker
Christmas Opens

Christmas Opens

Aronian wins Oberursel Christmas blitz

Aronian wins Oberursel Christmas blitz