US Chess League 2008 Starts Today

| 1 | Chess Event Coverage

The US Chess League is a national chess league, split into East and West divisions, with 14 teams in total taking part this year - 7 in each division.

Eastern Division Teams:

Boston Blitz
Philadelphia Inventors
New York Knights
New Jersey Knockouts
Queens Pioneers
Carolina Cobras
Baltimore Kingfishers



Western Division Teams:

Dallas Destiny
San Francisco Mechanics
Miami Sharks
Seattle Sluggers
Arizona Scorpions
Chicago Blaze
Tennessee Tempo




The league attracts many well known chess names including Hikaru Nakamura for the Seattle Sluggers (pictured bottom) and Larry Christiansen for Boston Blitz (pictured top).

Reigning champions Dallas Destiny will be defending their 2007 title.

The official website is here.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix