Vachier-Lagrave Wins 11th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

Vachier-Lagrave Wins 11th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

| 12 | Chess Event Coverage

GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave won the 11th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix. The French top grandmaster beat Russian GM Maksim Chigaev 2-0 in the knockout final. GM Haik Martirosyan of Armenia continues to lead the overall Grand Prix standings.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on August 18 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The 11th Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, August 11, with 758 participants. Uzbekistan's GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov and India's GM Murali Karthikeyan both finished on 9/10 in the Swiss part.

The live broadcast of the tournament.

We know that Abdusattorov (@ChessWarrior7197) is a fantastic online blitz player, as we saw for instance on July 21 when he won the Swiss segment alone, also with 9/10. Karthikeyan (@youngKID) was a bit of a surprise—perhaps even to himself—as he started with a perfect 8/8. No other player could follow him even for seven rounds in doing that.

His eighth consecutive win was against none other than GM Alexander Grischuk (@Grischuk), whose Berlin Wall crumbled down quickly when he failed to coordinate his pieces.

Fan-favorite GM Alireza Firouzja came half a point short to make it to the final eight but, like almost every week, he was involved in some wild fights. First, in a mutual time scramble he swindled Dutch IM Max Warmerdam, who had him on the ropes in round two:

Alireza Firouzja
Alireza Firouzja. Photo: Maria Emelianova/

Three rounds later it was Firouzja's turn to get swindled as even two queens were not enough to find a quick knockout blow:

And there was also a round-three upset as Greg Shahade, the well-known American IM and main organizer of the PRO Chess League, beat the world number-two:

The eight players who qualified for the knockout part were the aforementioned GMs Abdusattorov, Chigaev Karthikeyan, Grischuk, MVL, Svidler, and also GMs Vladimir Onischuk and Sergey Grigoriants.

August 11 Speed Chess Grand Prix | Swiss Final Standings (Top 20)

Rk Fed Title Username Name Score SB
1 GM ChessWarrior7197 Nodirbek Abdusattorov 9 60.75
2 GM youngKID Karthikeyan Murali 9 55.25
3 GM PSvidler Peter Svidler 8.5 53.75
4 GM Onischuk_V Vladimir Onischuk 8.5 51.25
5 GM Fandorine Maksim Chigaev 8.5 50.25
6 GM sergiochess83 Sergey Grigoriants 8.5 48.25
7 GM LyonBeast Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 8.5 47.75
8 GM Grischuk Alexander Grischuk 8.5 42.25
8 GM Beca95 Aleksandar Indjic 8.5 42.25
10 IM swimmerchess Siva Mahadevan 8.5 40.5
11 GM Openyagami Vladimir Belous 8 51.75
12 GM vladislavkovalev Vladislav Kovalev 8 47.75
13 GM Firouzja2003 Alireza Firouzja 8 47.5
13 IM Gabix_94 Gabor Nagy 8 47.5
13 GM Azeryahu Gyula Pap 8 47.5
16 GM erichansen Eric Hansen 8 46.5
17 GM Msb2 Matthias Bluebaum 8 46
18 GM 2Vladimirovich90 Dmitry Andreikin 8 44.25
19 GM chito89 Axel Bachmann 8 43.5
20 GM RaunakSadhwani2005 Raunak Sadhwani 8 42

After beating Karthikeyan 1.5-0.5, Vachier-Lagrave met Svidler in the semifinal. The Frenchman won the first game, which was a Grunfeld clash between two super-experts in this opening. Sadly, a huge blunder ended this game prematurely:

The key moment in the final is the following in the first game. MVL missed (or perhaps decided against) a tactic, but then Chigaev missed a chance himself and lost material instead:

MVL won the $1,000 first prize and 12 GP points while Chigaev took second ($500 and eight GP points). Abdusattorov and Svidler both won $200 and four GP points, while the losing quarterfinalists each earned $100 and two GP points. 

WGM Aleksandra Maltsevskaya (@Sanyura) won the $100 prize for being the top-scoring female player.

Below are the current Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix standings. At the end of the season, the players with the four best scores will advance to the Speed Chess Championship to be hosted later this year.

Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix | Standings After August 11 (Top 20)

# Fed Title Name Username Swiss
1 GM Haik Martirosyan @Micki-taryan 51.5 28 79.5
2 GM Hikaru Nakamura @Hikaru 51 28 79
3 GM Vladislav Kovalev @vladislavkovalev 66 8 74
4 GM Parham Maghsoodloo @Parhamov 51 20 71
5 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave @LyonBeast 33.5 28 61.5
6 GM Vladislav Artemiev @Sibelephant 33.5 24 57.5
7 GM Alexander Grischuk @Grischuk 49.5 6 55.5
8 GM Dmitry Andreikin @2Vladimirovich90 41.5 14 55.5
9 GM Nordibek Abdusattorov @ChessWarrior7197 42 10 52
10 GM Sergey Karjakin @SergeyKarjakin 41.5 10 51.5
11 GM Alireza Firouzja @Firouzja2003 40.5 10 50.5
12 GM Grigoriy Oparin @OparinGrigoriy 34 16 50
13 GM Vladimir Fedoseev @Bigfish1995 33 14 47
14 GM Raunak Sadhwani @RaunakSadhwani2005 40 4 44
15 GM Maksim Chigaev @Fandorine 32.5 10 42.5
16 IM Hans Niemann @IMHansNiemann 40 2 42
17 GM Giga Kuparadze @GigaQuparadze 40.5 0 40.5
18 GM Fabiano Caruana @FabianoCaruana 34 6 40
19 IM Tuan Minh Le @wonderfultime 33.5 4 37.5
20 GM Peter Svidler @PSvidler 25 12 37

Games final eight

The Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix is presented by Gambit, where you can play classic games like Reversi, Backgammon, and Oh Ship with players from around the world.

More information about the Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix can be found here.

More from PeterDoggers
Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory