Women's Speed Chess Championship: Lagno Beats Gunina

Women's Speed Chess Championship: Lagno Beats Gunina

| 24 | Chess Event Coverage

In a very close round of 16 match in the FIDE Women's Speed Chess Championship, reigning women's world blitz champion GM Kateryna Lagno defeated GM Valentina Gunina 11.5-10.5. The next match is on Wednesday, June 16, between GM Alexandra Kosteniuk and GM Harika Dronavalli.

The live broadcast of the match.

After IM Bibisara Assaubayeva had eliminated GM Humpy Koneru with quite a wide margin on Saturday, the next match was much more equal and very exciting as well. Lagno took the lead with a narrow 4.5-3.5 score in the five-minute games, but after the three-minute segment, it was equal again.

Some wild tactics happened in game five of the match:

"I didn't like that she equalized before the last stage because, to be honest, I'm not a specialist of one-minute games," smiled Lagno, after the match was over. "During the whole match, she was playing very fast."

The bullet segment was a nail-biting affair with one player taking the lead and then the other. Not a single draw was played there. In the end, it was Lagno, when the score was still even, who won the last game as Black. Gunina could have resigned earlier to give herself another chance to come back, but she was so focused that she let the match clock run out in a dead-lost position.

"It was fun. When you play with Valentina, you expect some kind of fight in every game," said Lagno. She will now play the winner of the match GM Nana Dzagnidze vs. GM Irina Krush. Gunina takes home $1,000 for finishing 9th-16th.

All games

Women's Speed Chess Championship 2021 bracket

The FIDE 2021 Women's Speed Chess Championship is an online competition for titled female players. The qualifiers for the event were held May 28-June 6, while the main event runs June 10-July 3. Players battle for their shares of a total prize fund of $66,000.

Previous report:

More from PeterDoggers
Carlsen, Praggnanandhaa Still Perfect

Carlsen, Praggnanandhaa Still Perfect

FTX Crypto Cup: Aronian, Carlsen, Praggnanandhaa, Duda Start With Wins

FTX Crypto Cup: Aronian, Carlsen, Praggnanandhaa, Duda Start With Wins