Zug 2013 FIDE Grand Prix

Zug 2013 FIDE Grand Prix

| 17 | Chess Event Coverage


The third Grand Prix of the 2012/13 series runs from 17 April - 1 May in Zug, Switzerland.

The overall winner and runner-up of the 2012/13 Grand Prix series will qualify for the next Candidates Tournament, expected to be held in March 2014. The first two events took place last year, in London and Tashkent. The current standings are shown below.

Each tournament is a single round-robin featuring 12 out of the 18 players in the Grand Prix, and each player competes in four of the six events. The best 3 scores of each player count towards their overall score. The official regulations for the 2012/13 FIDE Grand Prix can be found here.

The venues for the three remaining Grand Prix competitions are in considerable doubt. Zug was itself a late replacement for Lisbon, Portugal.

Magnus Carlsen, Levon Aronian, Vladimir Kramnik and Viswanathan Anand declined to participate in the Grand Prix as they are likely to qualify for the 2014 Candidates by virtue of their high ratings (or status as World Champion).

London Grand Prix winners (l to r) Boris Gelfand, Veselin Topalov and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

London 2012 FIDE Grand Prix Round 11 Mamedyarov, Gelfand, Topalov.jpg


The line-up for the Zug Grand Prix

Name  Fed Elo
Radjabov, Teimour  AZE  2793
Karjakin, Sergey  RUS  2786
Caruana, Fabiano  ITA  2772
Topalov, Veselin  BUL  2771
Nakamura, Hikaru  USA  2767
Mamedyarov, Shakriyar  AZE  2766
Morozevich, Alexander  RUS  2758
Leko, Peter  HUN  2744
Kamsky, Gata  USA  2741
Ponomariov, Ruslan  UKR  2733
Giri, Anish  NLD  2727
Kasimdzhanov, Rustam  UZB  2709


Gata Kamsky has replaced Vugar Gashimov for the rest of the series. Gashimov has been suffering from a prolonged illness and hasn't played competitively since Tata Steel 2012, so is regarded as an 'inactive' player by FIDE. Although Gashimov would currently be ranked #19 in the world, he doesn't appear on the latest rating list. Best wishes to Gashimov for better health in the future! 


The schedule for the 2013 Zug Grand Prix

17th April 2013  Arrival & Opening Ceremony
18th April 2013  Round 1 
19th April 2013  Round 2 
20th April 2013  Round 3 
21st April 2013  Round 4 
22nd April 2013  Free Day 
23rd April 2013  Round 5 
24th April 2013  Round 6 
25th April 2013  Round 7 
26th April 2013  Round 8 
27th April 2013  Free Day 
28th April 2013  Round 9 
29th April 2013  Round 10 
30th April 2013  Round 11 & Closing Ceremony
1st May 2013  Departure 


All rounds start at 14:00 local time (12:00 UTC) except the final round which starts 2 hours earlier. The time control used is 40 moves in 2 hours, followed by 20 moves in 1 hour, then 15 minutes plus a 30 second increment after move 60.


The current standings in the 2012/13 Grand Prix

Name London  Tashkent  Total
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov  140 80 220
Wang Hao  70 140 210
Boris Gelfand  140 30 170
Veselin Topalov  140 140
Sergey Karjakin  140 140
Alexander Morozevich  140 140
Peter Leko  80 50 130
Rustam Kasimdzhanov  35 80 115
Alexander Grischuk  90 90
Fabiano Caruana  80 80
Michael Adams 55 55
Vasily Ivanchuk  55 55
Leinier Dominguez Perez  35 20 55
Peter Svidler  50 50
Ruslan Ponomariov  50 50
Hikaru Nakamura  15 15
Anish Giri  15 15
Gata Kamsky 10 10
Teimour Radjabov  0
Vugar Gashimov  0


The main sponsor of the Zug Grand Prix is the Renova Group, a large Russian conglomerate.



Information from the Zug Grand Prix website. Photo by Ray Morris-Hill.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix