Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

1. e4 e6 2. e5


  • 21 months ago · Quote · #21

    Texesa

    nice

  • 21 months ago · Quote · #22

    varelse1

    Omfg that is insane!

  • 21 months ago · Quote · #23

    AnthonyCG

    Only Tal...

  • 21 months ago · Quote · #24

    lifesnotfair

    Was this an actual game, or a puzzle that someone showed Tal? I would like to know the story behind it.

    It was AWESOME :)

  • 21 months ago · Quote · #25

    mashanator

    It's long and weird. Google it. The puzzle apparently could of been composed by like 5 different sources. Someone showed alot of super grandmasters at a strong tournament in the 80s I think it was, the list including Karpov, Kasparov and Tal. None of them were supposed to be able to solve it except for Tal, who went for a walk in the park and came back with the solution. Something like "Mysterious Endgame Study and Tal" shoul do the trick.

  • 7 months ago · Quote · #26

    Zoned

    But er... returning to the subject, does the Steinitz not *look* and *feel* entirely excellent? Does it not tick many boxes that abstract theory demands?... Dominate [overrun!] the center; Defend! (d4,f4,Nf3); Play with courage [GGRRR!!!]... The Steinitz looks so pretty too, tending towards a central pyramid... I doubt many sensitive types would have the heart to jeopardize its very pleasing symmetry. Anyway, I've won with it against Sourceforge MobileChess (on a Java mobile) which is probably the strongest computer opponent out there, and that's good enough for me! Now where did I put my pills?
  • 7 months ago · Quote · #27

    sacking3

    Chess rules

    In an OTB game what would happen if a player promoted and inadvertantly  placed the wrong colour Q on the board? Clearly an illegal move but what do the rules say about a penalty? I believe if there is less than 5mins remaining the penalty is  two mins to the other player and replace the Q correctly. What if there is greater than 5 mins left?

  • 7 months ago · Quote · #28

    ClavierCavalier

    Seems unlikely, but I think the penalty should be that the other player gets to keep the queen.


Back to Top

Post your reply: